Although a final deal is yet to be concluded, Brno is looking ever more likely to remain on the MotoGP calendar.

Following major doubts over the funding of the Czech Republic round, negotiations between Dorna and officials continued at this weekend's event.

Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta met with Mr.Stanislav Juranek, Vice-governor of the South Moravian Region and Mrs. Ivana Ulmanova, CEO Brno Circuit, concluding that funding will soon be in place for at least the 2015 race.

"I appreciate the decision of The Council of South Moravian Region and personal initiative of the South Moravian governor Mr. Michal Hasek to guarantee funding of the Czech Grand Prix in 2015," said Ezpeleta.

"The positive information I have received this weekend comes in complete contrast to the information we had received at Sachsenring and therefore completely changes the situation.

"I consider it to be very positive; it will now be necessary to discuss further steps with the Brno Circuit and with other partners. I cannot predict our final decision at this very moment, but I can assure all MotoGP fans and visitors to the Czech Grand Prix that our primary interest is to keep the MotoGP race in Brno as one of the traditional and highly appreciated events on the World Championship calendar."

Mrs. Ivana Ulmanova, CEO, Brno Circuit explained: "The previous statement we made to Dorna was influenced by the current uncertainty about funding a MotoGP race for 2015. I must express my thanks to Carmelo Ezpeleta for waiting on a final decision about the Czech GP until almost the last possible day. This gives us enough time to negotiate and finally to find a solution.

"We now have renewed positivity that we can guarantee next year's MotoGP race. I hope that the effort we spend in keeping live the tradition of the Czech Grand Prix event will be the best evidence for Dorna Sports representatives that we are prepared to stay in the World Championship as a one of the best organised and most popular MotoGP events."

The Czech event was first part of the series in 1965, while racing on the modern-day circuit has taken place since 1987.


Loading Comments...