Moto2 championship leader Johann Zarco pulled out an incredible lap record to take his second pole position of the year with the late rush of riders no match for the Frenchman's time in Catalunya.

The Ajo Motorsport rider put down a clinical 1m 45.895s with over twelve minutes remaining and as a flurry of bikes took to the track to try to prise his Kalex from the top spot Zarco's time remained too good.

Zarco was previously on pole in Argentina earlier in the season and went on to convert that start into a race win.

Jonas Folger was Zarco's nearest rival as he edged nearer to his time as the clock ran down, ending up 0.165 adrift at the flag for the AGR Team.

The front row of race winners is completed with reigning Moto2 champion Tito Rabat third, the EG0,0 Marc VDS man seemed content with his front row start despite some angry arm waving after having a lap wrecked by traffic with just five minutes to go.

Dominique Aegerter (Technomag Racing Interwetten) fell out of the front row positions towards the end and used his last effort to push himself back up to fourth.

The first non Kalex machine on the grid was again the Speed Up of Alex Lowes, who brought us early drama after an exciting save when he lost the front right at the session start.

The British rider regrouped and worked hard to finish an eventual fifth.

The final spot on row two goes to a back to form Luis Salom for the Paginas Amarillas HP 40 team.

His team-mate Alex Rins is just one place behind in seventh, and top rookie. The Spaniard is joined on row three by Simone Corsi (Athina Forward Racing) in eighth and early pace-setter Sandro Cortese (Dynavolt Intact GP) in ninth.

Tom Luthi (Derendinger Racing Interwetten) completes the top ten on the grid.

Just missing out were AGR's Axel Pons in eleventh and rookie Alex Marquez in twelfth for the EG 0,0 Marc VDS team in a close session where the top sixteen were all within a second of the top time.

An early fall for Ricky Cardus at turn three left him out of contention with Randy Krummenacher crashing out at the same corner with ten minutes to go. Xavier Simeon only lasted five minutes longer before finding the gravel at turn five, Hafizh Syahrin and the second Tech3 of Marcel Schrotter also crashed out shortly after.

The returning Ratthapark Wilairot starts from 24th for JPMoto Malaysia.

Wild cards Edgar Pons on a third Paginas Amarillas HP 40 machine and Ramdan Rosli (Petronas AHM Malaysia) start 21st and 32nd respectively.



Loading Comments...