9th - Aleix EspargaroAverage score out of ten: 6.2Team: Team Suzuki EcstarBike: GSX-RR (Factory)Wins: 0Podiums: 0Poles: 1Fastest Laps: 0Championship points: 105Championship position: 11th out of 28

Aleix Espargaro caused one of the biggest upset in last year's vote when, as the top Open class rider, he was ranked fourth in your Star of the Year poll.

The Spaniard's giant-killing performances would net him a factory Suzuki seat for the company's 2015 return, but Espargaro's results took a backward step and he similarly slid down to ninth in this year's countdown.

The highlight of the Spaniard's season was a pole position in Catalunya, one of three front row starts aided by the softer rear tyre, with his best race result a sixth place in Aragon.

Espargaro got the better of highly rated rookie team-mate Maverick Vinales in all but two of the races they both finished, although Espargaro's three DNFs (compared to two for Vinales) meant he was only eight points clear of the youngster by the conclusion of the season.

Espargaro's eleventh place in the championship was four places slower than last year.

Both GSX-RR riders will be hoping for much needed enhanced engine performance, plus gains from a new seamless-shift gearbox in 2016.

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Riders' World Championship standings, the MotoGP Star of the Year poll expects viewers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, riding style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results.

Over 100,000 votes were cast for the 2015 Crash.net MotoGP Star of the Year poll, where viewers awarding each of this year's participants with a mark out of ten.

2015 MotoGP Star of the Year: Results so far9th Aleix Espargaro SPA Team Suzuki Ecstar 6.210th Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team 5.9Full ranking to be revealed alongside the winner.

Aleix Espargaro in the Crash.net MotoGP Star of the Year pollMotoGP Star of the Year 2015: 9thMotoGP Star of the Year 2014: 4thMotoGP Star of the Year 2013: 5thMotoGP Star of the Year 2012: 7thMotoGP Star of the Year 2011: N/AMotoGP Star of the Year 2010: N/AMotoGP Star of the Year 2009: N/AMotoGP Star of the Year 2008: N/A



Loading Comments...