Ducati's Andrea Iannone benefited from a tow from Jorge Lorenzo to post the fastest time of the weekend so far in Le Mans with a last-gasp flying lap in FP3.

Lorenzo had been holding top spot following a lap in 1m 32.533s and seemed to have taken the top spot on his Movistar Yamaha M1 as the chequered flag went out, only to be demoted to second as Iannone was credited with a quicker time by only 0.005s after the Italian tagged onto the rear of Lorenzo's machine on his final lap.

Monster Tech 3 Yamaha's Pol Espargaro came through for third on the satellite machine with a time in 1m 32.662s, which left him only 0.134s behind the factory Yamaha.

World championship leader Marc Marquez was the quickest Honda rider in fourth on the Repsol RC213V, 0.056s behind Espargaro, with Suzuki's Maverick Vinales fifth on the GSX-RR, three tenths down on Lorenzo.

Honda's Dani Pedrosa, at the centre of much speculation on Saturday that he has done a deal to join Valentino Rossi at Yamaha in 2017, rounded out the top six, setting his best lap in 1m 32.915s.

After a troubled Friday, Valentino Rossi bettered his FP2 time by eight tenths on the second factory Yamaha, although his best lap of 1m 33.12s was still four tenths slower than team-mate Lorenzo.

Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati), Bradley Smith (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) and Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) secured their place in Q2 as they finalised the top ten.

Suzuki's Aleix Espargaro missed the cut after sliding off the GSX-RR at turn 14 and will be joined in Q1 by Pramac's Danilo Petrucci, back from injury, and team-mate Scott Redding, who finished 11th and 12th respectively.

Northern Ireland's Eugene Laverty was 15th fastest on the Aspar Ducati, 1.5 seconds off the fastest time, with Aprilia pair Stefan Bradl and Alvaro Bautista in 19th and 20th positions respectively behind Frenchman Loris Baz (Avintia Ducati).

Premier class newcomer Tito Rabat was also a faller on the Marc VDS Honda but escaped unhurt.

1. Andrea Iannone
2. Jorge Lorenzo
3. Pol Espargaro
4. Marc Marquez
5. Maverick Vi?ales
6. Dani Pedrosa
7. Valentino Rossi
8. Andrea Dovizioso
9. Bradley Smith
10. Cal Crutchlow
11. Danilo Petrucci
12. Scott Redding
13. Hector Barbera
14. Aleix Espargaro
15. Yonny Hernandez
16.Jack Miller
17. Eugene Laverty
18. Loris Baz
19. Stefan Bradl
20. Alvaro Bautista
21. Tito Rabat



Loading Comments...