Barcelona's new track layout has distorted the order of the MotoGP top ten, but only to an extent, as Maverick Vi?ales brought his Friday speed into Saturday morning to top FP3 from Marc Marquez.

A decision was taken to use the Circuit of Barcelona's Formula 1 layout, which differs significantly from the one used on day one in sectors three and four, after Luis Salom's tragic accident on Friday afternoon.

The altered layout appears to play into the braking strengths of both Repsol Hondas as Marquez and Dani Pedrosa showed strongly throughout the hour-long session.

It was only a late Vi?ales surge that deposed the Hondas in the end, the Ecstar Suzuki ending the morning 0.12s ahead of Marquez. Pedrosa, who along with his team-mate struggled on day one, was 0.224s off the fastest time in third.

As the Hondas made strides, the shortening of turn ten and addition of a flip-flop chicane before the final corner appeared to suit the Movistar Yamahas less. Valentino Rossi was fourth, but only after his final lap guaranteed his passage into Saturday afternoon's Q2.

Friday's pace setter Jorge Lorenzo was two places back of his team-mate in sixth, his best lap time clocking in at over half a second slower than Vi?ales'. Pol Espargaro split the factory men with an impressive time in fifth.

Scott Redding showed well in seventh, his top Ducati showing a continuation of his Friday form, with Pramac Ducati team-mate Danilo Petrucci in eighth.

Cal Crutchlow ensured three Hondas placed inside the top ten with the ninth fastest time, with Andrea Iannone still some way off his best in tenth.

Andrea Dovizioso (twelfth), Aleix Espargaro (14th) and Bradley Smith (21st) will be the most notable participants in Q1 this afternoon after all three men failed to make the cut.

1. Maverick Vi?ales
2. Marc Marquez
3. Dani Pedrosa
4. Valentino Rossi
5. Pol Espargaro
6. Jorge Lorenzo
7. Scott Redding
8. Danilo Petrucci
9. Cal Crutchlow
10. Andrea Iannone
11. Yonny Hernandez
12. Andrea Dovizioso
13. Hector Barbera
14. Aleix Espargaro
15.Jack Miller
16.Alvaro Bautista
17.Michele Pirro
18. Eugene Laverty
19.Stefan Bradl
20.Tito Rabat
21. Bradley Smith