Ducati's two factory riders gave a demonstration of the Desmosedici GP's potential around Assen once again by placing first and second in MotoGP warm-up.

Hours before he will start the eight race of 2016 from the back of the grid due to a misdemeanour in Barcelona, Andrea Iannone was the fastest of the 21 riders with a lap time that was 0.133s faster than team-mate Dovizioso.

In cool, blustery conditions, the sun was present at the beginning of the 20-minute session, only for a brief shower of rain to pepper the track in the final minutes.

Behind the Ducatis, Maverick Vi?ales demonstrated his ability in dry conditions too with the third fastest time, a place ahead of Valentino Rossi. Vi?ales will start from eleventh on the grid but showed that, should it remain dry, he could contend for a podium place.

With Rossi fourth, Marc Marquez was, fittingly, fifth. The end of the session was notable for the Spaniard's trip across the gravel trap at the final chicane, when attempting to pass team-mate Dani Pedrosa. The move had definite similarities of Rossi's excursion during the final lap of the '15 race. A case of the four-time world champion covering all his bases perhaps?

Jorge Lorenzo re-found some of that confidence that was so evidently missing in qualifying as he placed sixth, albeit with a lap that was a quarter of a second slower than Marquez.

Tech 3 team-mates Pol Espargaro were next along, in seventh and eighth, with Alvaro Bautista a promising ninth. Third placed qualifier Scott Redding was tenth fastest.

The cool track conditions went some way to catching out several riders. Yonny Hernandez, Cal Crutchlow and Tito Rabat were all fallers at left hand corners, a trait we saw during Saturday's sessions.

1. Andrea Iannone
2.Andrea Dovizioso
3. Maverick Vi?ales
4. Valentino Rossi
5. Marc Marquez
6. Jorge Lorenzo
7. Pol Espargaro
8.Bradley Smith
9. Alvaro Bautista
10. Scott Redding
11.Aleix Espargaro
12.Jack Miller
13.Michele Pirro
14.Danilo Petrucci
15. Dani Pedrosa
16. Tito Rabat
17. Cal Crutchlow
18.Stefan Bradl
19. Yonny Hernandez
20. Eugene Laverty
21. Hector Barbera



Loading Comments...