Between Mugello in June and Aragon in September, MotoGP enjoyed a record run of eight different winners in as many races.

Although no other season has produced eight different winners in a row, the year 2000 saw eight riders win at least one race (Kenny Roberts Jnr, Garry McCoy, Valentino Rossi, Max Biaggi, Alex Barros, Alex Criville, Loris Capirossi and Norick Abe).

But that record was also broken when Andrea Dovizioso became winner number nine, last time out at Sepang.

To mark an extraordinary season, the winning riders gathered for a special photo shoot on the eve of this weekend's Valencia season finale.

The eight in a row began with victory for Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha) at Mugello, followed by Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha) at Catalunya, Jack Miller (Marc VDS Honda) at Assen, Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda) in Germany, Andrea Iannone (Ducati) in Austria, Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) at Brno, Maverick Vinales (Suzuki) at Silverstone and finally Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda) at Misano.

Marquez then returned to the top at Aragon and Motegi, where he clinched the title, with Crutchlow taking his second win at Phillip Island before Dovizioso triumphed in Malaysia.

MotoGP's switch to unfamiliar Michelin tyres, the introduction of unified ECU software and some wet race day weather all contributed to the run of winners.

Might there be a tenth winner this weekend?

2016 MotoGP race winners (prior to Valencia):
Marc Marquez (Honda) = 5 wins
Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha) = 3 wins
Valentino Rossi (Yamaha) = 2 wins
Cal Crutchlow (Honda) = 2 wins
Jack Miller (Honda) = 1 win
Andrea Iannone (Ducati) = 1 win
Maverick Vinales (Suzuki) =1 win
Dani Pedrosa (Honda) = 1 win
Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) = 1 win



Loading Comments...