Lucio Cecchinello took a fine win today in the 125cc Czech Grand Prix at the Brno circuit. In an action packed race the Italian spent most of the race at the sharp end of the field.

In an intense race Cecchinello's Aprilia took the win from young gun Daniel Pedrosa on the Telefonica MoviStar Honda. Pedrosa, only just stole the second place from Frenchman Arnaud Vincient, who had looked in contention for the win from the very first lap.

Though Vincient had qualified back in eighth place, the Aprilia rider was at the head of the field just over a lap in to the ninteen lap race. Pole sitter Alex de Angelis got off to a poor start and dropped back through the field. Despite his fine performance in qualifying de Angelis didn't look in contention for a win today.

At the end of the first lap de Angelis was back to sixth place whilst Pedrosa headed the field before Frenchman Arnaud took the initiative going in to turn one.

Arnaud went on to set an early fastest lap and attempted to build an early gap. The Frenchman maintained his lead until the sixth lap where an appearance of pole sitter Alex de Angelis was briefly seen.

Lap seven saw Joan Olive crash out as Cecchinello took the lead. The next lap, at the same corner, Pablo Nieto also had a fall, though earlier in the corner and therefore at higher speed.

As the race settled to the middle stint it was Cecchinello who maintained the lead. Though it was the Italian who maintained the lead across the start finish line lap after lap, Arnaud Vincient would take the lead for a couple of corners lap after lap in this phase of the race.

By lap fifteen Vincient took the lead to register across the start finish line and marked notice that the final laps to the chequered flag would be hectic to say the least.

In these laps the main protagonists for the win were Cecchinello, VIncient and even Hector Barbera who took the lead on more than one occasion and for the first time in his career.

Come the chequered flag it was Cecchinello from Pedrosa from Vincient.

Race Results:
1 Cecchinello
2 Pedrosa
3 Vincient
4 Barbera
5 Poggiali
6 Jenkner
7 Sanna
8 de Angelis
9 Borsoi
10 Kallio


Loading Comments...