Daijiro Kato will forever be remembered as being one of the greatest 250cc riders in racing history, and as such has been honoured as a MotoGP legend and inducted into the MotoGP Hall of Fame, today at Motegi.

The Japanese star won the 250cc World Championship in 2001 in dominating fashion, winning 11 of the 16 rounds, an all-time record for the class, as well as setting a new record points-total in the process with 322.

His statistics in the quarter-litre category speak for themselves, having won 17 out of the 37 250cc Grands Prix he took part in, making him the most successful Japanese rider ever along with Tetsuya Harada. He earned the Rookie of the Year title in 2002 when he stepped up to the MotoGP class, establishing himself as Japan's greatest hope of winning the coveted premier-class title for the first time.

Kato tragically died on April 20th 2003 after an accident at the first round of the MotoGP World Championships in Suzuka. The cause of his fall is still to be established.

Kato is the 16th MotoGP Legend. The MotoGP Hall of Fame was created to pay homage to the people who make up the history of the oldest motorsports World Championship, its first edition having taken place back in 1949.

Since its launch in 2000, a series of exceptional riders from Grand Prix racing have been nominated as MotoGP Legends and inducted as members of this MotoGP Hall of Fame.

Each of them has had an induction ceremony at one of the GPs, at which a unique silver medal recognising the honour is presented to the new member.

The members inducted to this exclusive club so far have been Mick Doohan, Giacomo Agostini, Angel Nieto, Mike Hailwood, Kenny Roberts, Kevin Schwantz, Wayne Rainey, Carlo Ubbiali, Freddie Spencer, Anton Mang, Wayne Gardner, Barry Sheene, Geoff Duke, Phil Read and John Surtees.
Daijiro Kato - MotoGP Legend:

Birth date: 04/07/1976Birth place: SaitamaFirst Grand Prix: 1996 JPN 250cc First podium: 1996 JPN 250ccFirst Grand Prix victory: 1997 JPN 250ccGrand Prix victories: 172nd Placements: 53rd Placements: 5Podiums: 27World Championship wins: 1



Loading Comments...