Dani Pedrosa looked to be on target for a repeat of his dominating 2002 victory at Motegi today, but mid race mechanical problems left him vulnerable to the battling trio of Hector Barbera, Casey Stoner and Andrea Dovizioso.

Qualifying saw Pedrosa take his ninth pole in the 125cc class by a clear margin, setting a best time of 1min 57.736secs to beat his own previous record at the circuit and secure the front spot by a clear 0.822 seconds.

His closest rival was Stefano Perugini, with the Italian desperate for victory as he trails the Spaniard by some 42 points in the championship. However, Perugini's best lap came at the very end of a relatively sterile session devoid of serious challengers to Pedrosa's seniority.

Jorge Lorenzo, winner of the last race at Rio, sealed his third front row start of the season in third place whilst Hector Barbera made it three Spaniards in the top four.

Provisional pole setter Dovizioso was unable to improve his time and slipped to the second row in fifth place, ahead of Pablo Nieto, Lucio Cecchinello and Alex De Angelis.

When the red lights went out, Pedrosa converted his pole into the holeshot and led the 38-rider field through the first turn, ahead of Barbera, Talmacsi, Perugini, Kallio and Dovizioso. However, 16-year-old Barbera wasn't going to let his countryman run away (as he did one year ago) and dived inside the Telefonica rider early in the lap.

Dani, riding his spare bike after warm-up problems, fought back towards the end of the lap - and would lead the field over the finish line for the first time ahead of Barbera, Dovizioso, Talmacsi, Kallio, Perugini, de Angelis, Jenkner and Masao Azuma, who last night announced he'll be retiring at the end of the year.

Having survived the early assault from Barbera unscathed, Pedrosa soon began setting an unmatchable pace to pull away from the field, while behind him Dovizioso, Barbera and Stoner were locked in battle for second, with Perugini, Kallio and Jenkner remaining in touch.

By lap 10 of 21, Pedrosa's advance had been pinned by Dovizioso, Stoner and Barbera to just over a second, while Rio winner Lorenzo and podium regular de Angelis had joined what was now a nine-way battle for victory.

However, increasingly intense bickering between Stoner, Dovizioso and Barbera would let Pedrosa off the hook and by lap 12 the #3 had a 3.6secs lead, while Lorenzo (looking just as impressive as he'd been in Rio two weeks ago as he worked his way through the field), Kallio, Perugini, Jenkner and de Angelis were also able to catch the battling trio.

While things had been looking comfortable, Dani suddenly began losing two seconds a lap with mystery mechanical problems - and by lap 15 had been caught by Stoner et al. The young Aussie then made an untidy move for the lead, rynning wide in the process and allowing not just Pedrosa, but also Lorenzo and Barbera, back ahead.

But with Pedrosa unable to lap at anything under 2mins (+2secs from full race pace), it was only a matter of time before he lost the lead and two laps later Barbera made his move stick, being shortly followed by Stoner, Dovizioso and Lorenzo - with any of the top four in contention.

Make that three. On Lap 18 Lorenzo wobbled on the entry to the left-right chicane, his Derbi then refusing to turn right at the exit and forcing the youngster off the circuit. He would drop his machine with the tyre wall fast approaching, before remounting.

Meanwhile, the last lap began with Barbera leading Stoner and Dovizioso by next to nothing and, after defending his position from Dovizioso, the Aussie looked to have his first GP win in sight as he sized up the fellow teenager in front. But no matter how hard he pushed, the injured LCR rider just couldn't find a way past the faultless Barbera - who went on to take his second ever victory (his first being Donington) by just 0.164secs.

Dovizioso duly crossed the line third, while 2.5secs further back both Perugini and Jenkner found their way past the limping Honda of Pedrosa by the flag. Nevertheless, Pedrosa's sixth place keeps his title hopes on target.

Full results to follow...

1. Barbera
2. Stoner
3. Dovizioso
4. Perugini
5. Jenkner
6. Pedrosa
7. Kallio
8. Nieto



Loading Comments...