The FIM has published the official entry list for the 2009 MotoGP season, which will feature 19 riders.

The main addition to the 2008 line-up is the return of Sete Gibernau, who will ride a privateer Ducati under the banner of Grupo Francisco Hernando, as announced during the final round of the season at Valencia.

Other changes for 2009 include Andrea Dovizioso's move to the factory Honda team, which has avoided the fate of Honda's Formula One team to return for the new season, while Nicky Hayden moves over to Ducati to partner Casey Stoner.

Elsewhere, Pramac Racing - whose 2008 title sponsor Alice is not mentioned - brings in Niccolo Canepa and Mika Kallio for 2009, with former Pramac rider Toni Elias moving to the San Carlo Honda Gresini team to partner Alex de Angelis.

Marco Melandri will ride with Kawasaki after his ill-fated stint with Ducati in 2008, while the Scot Racing team will hope that Yuki Takahashi can continue to bring home the kind of results achieved by Dovizioso last year in his debut season.

Outside of the team changes and new arrivals, there is confirmation that 2008 Rookie of the Year Jorge Lorenzo will switch from the #48 to the #99 next season, while countryman Dani Pedrosa changes from #2 to #3 - reflecting his new championship position. Former world champion Casey Stoner moves from #1 back to #27.

2009 MotoGP entry list:

3. Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda Team
4. Andrea DoviziosoITA Respol Honda Team
5. Colin EdwardsUSA Tech 3 Yamaha
7. Chris VermeulenAUS Rizla Suzuki MotoGP
14. Randy de Puniet FRA LCR Honda MotoGP
15. Alex de Angelis RSM San Carlo Honda Gresini
21. John Hopkins USA Kawasaki Racing Team
24. Toni Elias SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini
27. Casey Stoner AUS Ducati Marlboro Team
33. Marco Melandri ITA Kawasaki Racing Team
36. Mika Kallio FIN Pramac Racing
46. Valentino Rossi ITA FIAT Yamaha Team
52. James Toseland GBR Tech 3 Yamaha
59. Sete Gibernau SPA Grupo Francisco Hernando
65. Loris Capirossi ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP
69. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Marlboro Team
72. Yuki Takahashi JPN Scot Racing Team MotoGP
88. Niccolo Canepa ITA Pramac Racing
99. Jorge Lorenzo SPA FIAT Yamaha Team



Loading Comments...