By Lisa Lewis

Pol Espargaro secured his second Moto2 win of the year at Catalunya on Sunday, by holding off his Pons Kalex team-mate Tito Rabat after a race long home battle.

Espargaro deflected the challenges from Rabat all around the last lap to take a tight victory and move into second in the championship. Espargaro celebrated by being 'knighted' by a marshal using a flag.

Also making the podium for the first time this year was a resurgent Tom Luthi for Interwetten Paddock. The Suter rider looking fully fit after missing the early part of the season after his testing crash.

Scott Redding settled for fourth after a problematic weekend for the Marc VDS team where both riders had an engine change to improve performance. The Brit retains the lead in the championship though it is cut to 35 points over Espargaro.

Italtrans rider Takaaki Nakagami had Technomag carXpert rider Randy Krummenacher on his back wheel for most of the race but held on for fifth.

Johann Zarco secured seventh for Came Iodaracing Project ahead of Technomag carXpert rider Dominique Aegerter in eighth. Marc VDS' Mika Kallio took ninth after a tough battle for the lower positions.

Simone Corsi competed the top ten for Forward Racing ahead of his team-mate Mattia Pasini in eleventh.

Also scoring points were sole Motobi user Mike Di Meglio for Jir in 12th while Danny Kent picked up his first points of the season and the first points for Tech3 this year in 13 th place.

Third of the Tuenti HP 40 riders Axel Pons finished in 14th despite being ordered to drop a position for an illegal manoeuvre by Race Direction with the final point going to Julian Simon for Italtrans.

After working his way back into the race Nico Terol just missed out in 16th for Mapfre Aspar. He crossed the line just ahead of British rider Kyle Smith for Blusens Avintia in 17th. Both beat their team-mates who failed to finish.

Toni Elias was the first to crash out in the first corner, his collision with Sandro Cortese also causing the German to retire later in the race.

There were also falls for Steven Odendaal and Louis Rossi and Ricard Cardus and Xavier Simeon. Alex De Angelis smashed up his bikes visor in the gravel and later retired making two DNF's for Forward Racing.

Both QMMF riders Sucipto and West retired, Marcel Schrotter and Jordi Torres both crashed out while holding eighth position. Ratthapark Wilairot fell from his Gresini on the final lap.

Don't miss out! The next round of the 2013 MotoGP World Championship takes place at Assen on June 27-29 - CLICK HERE to see ticket prices from the Official MotoGP Ticket Store.



Loading Comments...