By Lisa Lewis

After a short delay to the start caused by technical issues with the lights, Alex Rins won a scrap with his Estrella Galicia 0,0 team-mate Alex Marquez to steal the Moto3 win at Indianapolis on the final lap.

The Spaniard, who had been pushed wide on the opening lap of the race, lead the breakaway group at the front with Marquez and Maverick Vinales.

He took the best line possible and blocked Marquez at the start of the final lap, then pushed for a gap, leaving his team-mate no chance to pass and timing his move for victory to perfection.

After winning both of Moto3's American rounds and two races in a row after victory in Germany, Rins moves to just 16 points behind championship leader Luis Salom.

Marquez held on to second, his first podium in Grand Prix racing and becomes only the fifth different rider to grace the rostrum this year, breaking the Rins-Vinales-Salom dominance.

Team Calvo KTM rider Vinales completed the all Spanish all KTM top three, a massive wobble for Vinales with 10 laps to go left the title contender with a lot to do eventually settling for third, and cutting the points gap to Salom to just nine points.

Jonas Folger, the only other rider to grace the podium this season, lead the chasing group for Mapfre Aspar but could not match the leading trio for pace, the Kalex KTM rider the next to cross the line in fourth.

Keeping his perfect podium record was not on the cards for Luis Salom but he pushed hard with a swollen ankle and foot from his worst qualifying placing of the year to finish fifth.

After a flying start by the Spaniard putting him in the top three only to slip back to sixth, the Red Bull KTM rider stalked down Jonas Folger and took advantage of a mistake by the German for fourth. He then got himself involved in a battle with team-mate and one time race leader Arthur Sissis who finished an eventual sixth.

Red Bull's third rider Zulfahmi Khairuddin enjoyed a return to form to end the race in seventh. He was followed by Miguel Oliveira, the first non-KTM finisher aboard his Mahindra in eighth.

Ninth place went to the top Honda rider San Carlo Team Italia rider Romano Fenati, Redox RW Racing's Jakub Kornfeil completed the top ten.

Also in the points in 11th was Niklas Ajo for Avant Tecno, Alexis Masbou in 12th for Ongetta Rivacold, fellow Frenchman CIP TSR Honda rider Alan Techer in 13th and Marc VDS youngster Livio Loi in 14th , his second points finish of the season.

The final point was claimed by Ongetta-Centro Seta rider Matteo Ferrari in 15th place

British rider John McPhee finished in 20th for Caretta Technology-RTG.

Efren Vazquez was running in eighth when smoke started to appear from his Mahindra, leading to his retirement.

Jack Miller made a heroic start moving up to second on the opening lap for Caretta Technology-RTG before a nasty looking highside crash saw the Australian stretchered away from the track to have x-rays revealing a right collarbone fracture.


Loading Comments...