Marc VDS's Tito Rabat reeled in his team-mate Mika Kallio and stamped his authority on the race with a third consecutive win in the Moto2 San Marino Grand Prix at Misano.

Rabat becomes just the third rider to complete this feat in Moto2 joining Toni Elias and Marc Marquez in the record books, extending his championship lead to 22 points in the process.

In an incredible year for the team, it is also the third time in a row the Marc VDS riders have secured a 1-2 finish.

Fellow Kalex rider Mika Kallio had lead until the halfway mark after getting an incredible start before Rabat's consistency coupled with the Finn having a wobble and tyre issues let Rabat through.

Behind their battle AirAsia Caterham rider Johann Zarco put in another solid performance for his second podium finish of the year after a lonely solo ride.

After an epic battle between the pair Maverick Vinales battled his Paginas Amarillas HP 40 bike ahead of rival Tom Luthi, to then pull away for fourth, the Interwetten Paddock man secure in fifth.

Dominique Aegerter was next to cross the line in sixth for Technomag carXpert rider before a huge gap to the next pack of riders caused by Jonas Folger's penalty.

As with Moto3 there were penalties for exceeding the track limit and Folger was the highest profile casualty and was one of several riders ordered to drop a position.

The AGR man held a five second advantage over the battle behind him when the penalty was altered to a ride through as he failed to drop from seventh in the three laps allowed to leave him an eventual 19th.

Franco Morbidelli was the top placing Italian for Italtrans in seventh, finishing just ahead of his team-mate Julian Simon on both the timesheets and the track, with the Spaniard securing eighth.

Axel Pons improved one place on his qualification after a long battle with the Italtrans pair for tenth, with Taka Nakagami back inside the top ten for Idemitsu Honda Team Asia.

The remaining points on offer went to Marcel Scrotter's Tech 3 in eleventh, Dynavolt Intact GP's Sandro Cortese in twelfth, NGM Forward's Mattia Pasini in 13th, Randy Krummenacher's Octo IodaRacing machine in 14th and Paginas Amirillas rider Luis Salom who took the final point on offer in 15th.

It was a tough day for the British riders with the injured Sam Lowes finishing 18th for Speed Up and Gino Rea 22nd for AGT REA Racing.

Wild-card Miroslav Popov was the fist to fall on the opening lap, the Czech rider rejoined only to crash again. Also falling were Azlan Shah, Riccardo Russo and Ricky Cardus who had been as high as third for Tech 3 before losing the front when in seventh.

Nico Terol, who missed Silverstone with illness, retired when his Aspar bike developed a problem.



Loading Comments...