The Moto3 championship was blown wide open at the Aragon Grand Prix as Romano Fenati blitzed through the pack from twelfth on the grid to charge and barge his way to the front in tricky, drying conditions, beating new championship leader Alex Marquez in the drag to the line.

Marquez had earlier clashed with Jack Miller, resulting in the KTM rider falling and costing the Australian the title advantage. The incident is to be investigated by Race Direction.

Sky Racing Team VR46 rider Fenati came out on top of the closing race battle to chalk up his fourth win of the season, following lap after lap of action as the riders battled each other and the conditions, mistakes in the wet seeing the leading group of five whittled down to just the trio of Marquez, Danny Kent and Fenati.

The Italian reaped the rewards for catching the leading pack as rivals fell, leaving him in a solid place to attack for the win aboard his KTM, timing his move over Marquez to perfection on the final lap before ensuring his Spanish rival had no opportunity to re-pass winning by the tiny margin of 0.057s.

An intelligent final few laps saw Estrella Galicia rider Marquez remain aware that second would be enough to take the title lead, now in front in the championship by eleven points from Miller.

Miller loses the championship lead for the first time this season after an incident between the Red Bull KTM Ajo rider and Marquez, an opportunity around the outside for the lead left the Australian in the path of Marquez and off the dry line, with contact leading to Miller being sent flying.

Miller's bike was taped together to circulate in the hope of a point, he finished after another off with both riders summoned to meet with race direction after the race.

Danny Kent had a race of highs and lows, leading the opening lap until the line he remained in contention, wisely avoiding the Miller/Marquez incident only to run wide and lose position.

The Husqvarna rider then tangled with Enea Bastianini before staging an epic recovery, setting three consecutive fastest laps to power forward to third and into contention for the win.

Alex Rins picked up valuable points on the second of the Estrella Galicia machines, the 2013 race winner and this years pole man finishing fourth, despite running wide and out of contention for the podium.

A run off track also knocked the determined Jakub Kornfeil out of contention for Team Calvo, moving him down to fifth, equalling his best result.

Sixth went to Junior Go&Fun rider Bastianini before a small gap back to Mahindra's top rider Miguel Oliveira in seventh and Ambrogio Racing rider Brad Binder in eighth.

The next group of riders to take the flag were lead across the line by Go & Fun's Nico Antonelli to steal ninth ahead of Alexis Masbou in tenth, while wild-card entry Hiroki Ono impressed to finish just behind them battling to eleventh for Honda Team Asia.

The remaining points went to Team Calvo's Isaac Vinales in twelfth, SaxoPrint-RTG rider Efren Vazquez in 13th after an excursion off the track, Jules Danilo picked up his first points of the season in 14th, with Zulfahmi Khairuddin doing just enough to take the final point on offer.

Niklas Ajo picked up ten places on lap one but any advantage from being the only rider on wet tyres was short lived and a trip to the pits to change tyres ended the Husqvarna riders charge for points.

The tricky conditions meant the race was littered with all kinds of crashes. Kiefer's Luca Grunwald was the first to fall, quickly followed by Matteo Ferrari just corners later.

Red Bull's Karel Hanika onlly lasted on lap more. Also falling were Scott Deroue, Front row starter Juanfran Guevara., CIP's Alessandro Tonucci, Marc VDS charge Jorge Navarro and Mahindra's Andrea Migno.

British rider John McPhee crashed out of fourth after an excellent, fighting run. The SaxoPrint-RTG rider re-joined in seventh only to crash again.


Loading Comments...