Miguel Oliveira held his nerve to make history in the Italian Moto3 Grand Prix at Mugello, with a group of six riders covered by less than half a second battling for the win.

The Red Bull KTM Ajo rider had proved he had the race pace to stay in front and held sway at the front longer than his rivals in a race where the lead changed virtually every corner.

The final few laps saw Oliveira test his ability to stay ahead should he be leading at the finish line, and though the did not want to lead going into the final lap it's where he found himself, although no-one gained get a big enough sling-shot to fly past.

This left Oliveira clear by just 0.071s - a small margin but enough for his first ever career win, making history as Portugal's first world championship race winner in his 68th GP start.

Britain's Danny Kent extended his championship lead to 46 points after being up and down the lead group and as low as 15th at one point. The Leopard Racing rider positioned his Honda to get the best slipstream, but not quite soon enough to pass for the win, crossing the line in second.

In a very tight race the final lap was a real contest with the lead group still huge, and Romano Fenati, who also had to battle back to the front to be in contention over the final corners, used all the slipstream available to take the final podium spot for Sky Racing Team VR46, just a tiny 0.003s ahead of fellow Italian Francesco Bagnaia.

With Bagnaia unlucky to find himself off the podium in fourth for Mapfre Team Mahindra, he was still in a fight for the final points, seeing off fellow countrymen Enea Bastianini (Gresini) and Niccolo Antonelli (Ongetta-Rivacold) in fifth and sixth respectively.

There was then a small gap after Efren Vazquez and Karel Hanika collided at turn five on the last lap, splitting the lead group with rookie Jorge Navarro next to cross the line in seventh for Estrella Galicia 0,0.

The Spaniard held off the advancing Isaac Vinales - a late addition to the lead group after a great run to catch the pack on his Husqvarna - in eighth.

Ninth went to SaxoPrint-RTG rider Alexis Masbou after cutting his way through from 23rd on the grid, whose team-mate John McPhee found himself off the pace in 20th.

One time leader Brad Binder crossed the line tenth for Red Bull KTM ajo, with Hiroki Ono (Leopard Racing) a little behind in 11th and Niklas Ajo 12th for RBA Racing.

Behind them the battle for 13th was so close that a photo finish was required with RW Racing's Livio Loi and Gresini's Andrea Locatelli posting identical times. Locatelli was given the postion, demoting Loi to 14th.

The final point went to Andrea Migno in 15th for The Sky Racing VR46 Team, with all of the points scorers crossing the line within six seconds of the race winner.

Wild-card Marco Bezzecchi was the first faller, with no further crashes until Stefano Manzi cartwheeled through the gravel with 13 laps remaining.

Fabio Quartararo only lasted three laps longer when the rookie was caught out by a front end wash-out, ending his race at turn 15.

Also failing to go the distance were Gabriel Rodrigo, Tatsuki Suzuki and Juanfran Guevara, who flew off track with just four laps left and Jules Danilo, who fell on the final lap.



Loading Comments...