Niccolo Antonelli got the best of an ten rider dash for first to take victory in a frantic, shortened Moto3 Czech Grand Prix in Brno, after a red flag on just the first lap of the original start.

The Ongetta-Rivacold rider took his first podium in style with a win after taking advantage of the rest of the pack tangling with each other to pull out a small but significant lead which enabled him to hold off the rapidly advancing Enea Bastianini by a gap of just 0.1s at the chequered flag.

After an intelligent and mature performance the pole sitter becomes the first rider to win from pole at Brno in the lightweight class since Tom Luthi won the 125cc race ten years ago on his way to taking the title.

Gresini rider Bastianini cut Danny Kent's championship lead by another eleven points, now just 45 points separate the pair, as he powered his way to the line, picking up thirteen places in the shortened race while taking a risk running with a soft front tyre.

The Hondas were joined on the podium by Red Bull KTM Ajo rider Brad Binder, equalling his best result this year.

The experienced Leopard Racing rider Efren Vazquez just held off rookie Jorge Navarro for fourth (Estrella Galicia 0,0) as the pair could not find a way past the smart South African ahead of them.

Sixth went to a fiery Romano Fenati, clearly hunting for a win for his Sky Racing VR46 team and making up an incredible sixteen places after being demoted to 22nd on the grid following his qualifying antics.

Championship leader Kent rued the lack of a spare tyre to use on his Leopard machine, choosing an old medium to try and keep pace in a ever changing race proved impossible leaving the Briton seventh despite a great start and some dazzling early moves to be an early leader.

Miguel Oliveira went from fighting team-mate Binder at the front to eighth in just a matter of corners while the top Czech home rider at home was Jakub Kornfeil for Drive M7 SIC after fellow countryman Karel Hanika crashed out of contention.

The final spot in the top ten went to British rider John McPhee, the SaxoPrint-RTG man had been in contention until the last lap where he struggled to keep pace as the pace exploded at the front, but was clear of the battle behind.

The Mapfre Team Mahindra riders were the best of the rest, having a private tussle for eleventh with Rookie Jorge Martin getting the better of his team-mate Francesco Bagnaia.

Sky Racing's Andrea Migno joined their battle and took 13th ahead of the third red bike of Juanfran Guevara in 14th.

Despite being one of the crashers in the first start Philipp Oettl (Schedl GP Racing) pulled back nine places to claim the final point.

The original 19 lap race was abandoned on lap one after two huge crashes - Tatsuki Suzuki, Philipp Oettl, Niklas Ajo and Jules Danilo all fell at turn one, swiftly followed at turn three by Lorenzo Dalla Porta, Andrea Locatelli, Hiroki Ono and Gabriel Rodrigo.

Rodrigo was tended to trackside before being taken by ambulance to the medical centre. It was later reported he was conscious and stable. Ono was also taken to the medical centre for a break to his foot.

Wild-card Max Kappler did not restart and Danilo left the race again on lap two in another 4 rider pile up with Karel Hanika, Fabio Quartararo and Isaac Vinales.

The 2014 race winner Alexis Masbou slid out of the lead group with just three laps remaining. He was followed by the second wild-card rider Kevin Hanus the following lap.



Loading Comments...