The 100th Moto2 grand prix was not short of drama as Tito Rabat converted his pole to a win in the restarted Aragon race after an enthralling battle throughout with Alex Rins.

Reigning champion Tito Rabat ensured the title battle would roll on for another round as he took control of the Aragon Moto2 race from the front with an exciting series of moves over the closing corners, holding off his race rival Alex Rins as Johann Zarco finished a distant sixth.

The EG 0,0 Marc VDS man cut the title lead to 78 points as he charged hard at the front for just his second win of the year, swapping the lead on the final lap before some superb late braking held off his fellow countryman, who had made a last-gasp dash for the front, overtaking by diving under Rabat a few corners earlier.

Rins, the most local rider with massive support hailing from his village near to the MotorLand track, had held the advantage before the red flag came out as faller Dominique Aegerter was attended to and immediately resumed his battle with Rabat, taking the lead at the first chance.

The Paginas Amarillas HP 40 rider was overtaken by Rabat after six laps and sat in second until his last lap lunge, finishing just 0.096s behind in the drag to the line.

The final spot on the podium went to a lonely ride by Speed Up man Sam Lowes, who initially ran at the front before fading back, but remained well clear of his nearest rival.

Jonas Folger also found himself riding solo for the AGR Team in fourth, unable to make an impact on Lowes ahead but also free of the pack behind.

The leader of that group was Tom Luthi, fifth for Interwetten after holding off a rapidly approaching Johann Zarco.

Zarco saw his incredible run of 12 podium finishes come to an end as he found himself battling with Hafizh Syahrin for seventh. A crash from Alex Marquez saw the championship leader gain a place but he could not find his way out of this mid-pack battle to take the title in Spain.

Syahrin was a superb seventh, his second best result of the year for Petronas Raceline Malaysia.

Taka Nakagami held on to some of the vigour, which had driven him to the podium in Misano, for another top ten finish for the Idemitsu team in eighth

Simone Corsi had been as high as fifth before falling down the order. The Forward Racing rider regained some places late on for ninth with his team-mate Lorenzo Baldassarri completing the top ten finishers.

QMMF Racing's new recruit, Mika Kallio, rallied for 11th, winning his battle with Axel Pons, who was forced to settle for 12th for the AGR Team.

The remaining points went to Sandro Cortese (Dynavolt Intact GP) in 13th, Azlan Shah (Idemitsu Honda Team Asia) in the points for the second consecutive race in 14th and Tech 3's Marcel Schrotter in 15th.

Aegerter had been the only rider to start all 100 Moto2 races. He lost consciousness after being taken out by Xavier Simeon briefly but was conscious by the time he was moved and is being check for additional dorsal and lumbar pains (back and abdomen). He was declared 'OK' before the race was restarted.

Luis Salom was the first faller on the restart, running off-line as he tumbled out of contention. Xavier Simeon, who managed to rejoin after his tangle with Aegerter, didn't last much longer. He followed him into the gravel in a separate spill moments later.

Alex Marquez fell when running in fifth. Edgar Pons and Julian Simon also failed to finish, while wild-card Federico Fuligni crashed out on the last lap.


Loading Comments...