Joan Mir ran with the leaders in a highly competitive Austrian Moto3 Grand Prix, slipping into the lead as his rivals tangled behind him handing the rookie just enough of a window to pull away over the final two corners.

The Leopard Racing rider was able to give KTM victory as their home track returned to the calendar, and became the first rider to win from pole in Moto3 since Enea Bastianini last completed the feat back in Misano 2015.

With the early lead trio of Mir, Brad Binder and Bastianini quickly reeled back in there was nothing separating the top ten for much of the race. As the latter laps progressed the trio pulled away again, this time joined by Philipp Oettl and Fabio Quartararo.

Mir made his move on the last lap, squeezing past Binder. His team-mate Quartararo followed and then battled the South African for position, allowing Mir to pull away and win by 0.2 seconds, and easily bettering his previous best finish of fifth.

Brad Binder put a second KTM on the podium with the Red Bull Ajo team as he got the better of his French rival in the dramatic drag to the line.

Shortly before Jorge Navarro gifted Brad Binder a increased championship lead when he fell with just five laps left to run, after working hard to catch the lead group. Binder now leads by a comfortable 67 points with neither of his nearest rivals registering a points finish.

Bastianini took the final podium spot but was frustrated to have not done better after Binder made his move for second on the final frantic lap for Gresini Honda.

An Angry Quartararo was even less satisfied with his fourth place finish and threw his gloves down as he stomped back into the pits.

The last of the lead group to take the flag was Oettl, after a superb ride to catch the leaders for Schedl GP Racing.

Jorge Martin was the best of the rest for Aspar Mahindra, four seconds behind, closely followed by the second Red Bull bike, piloted by Bo Bendsneyder, who staged a strong recovery for seventh after a terrible start.

Fabio Di Giananntonio secured eighth after holding off Sky Racing Team VR46's top rider Nicolo Bulega in the dash to the line.

Livio Loi did enough to secure a top ten finish for RW Racing, winning his battle with Aspar Mahindra's Francesco Bagnaia.

The remaining points went to RBA's Juanfran Guevara in twelfth, who ran a close race with in Andrea Locatelli on the second Leopard entry in 13th, Maria Herrera was a distant 14th after making excellent progress from a 31st place start and Hiroki Ono who took 15th for Honda Team Asia.
Nico Antonelli and Jakub Kornfeil were handed in-race penalties for exceeding the track limits, both the injured Italian and the Drive M7 SIC rider were already out of the points before the penalties were awarded.

British hope John McPhee struggled for pace all weekend and the race was no different, finishing 24th for the Peugeot MC Saxoprint team, behind his new team-mate Albert Arenas who crossed the line 22nd.

Wild-card Marco Bezzecchi was the first to exit the race, swiftly followed by CIP's Tatsuki Suzuki. There were no further fallers until much later in the race when Gabriel Rodrigo crashed out with nine laps remaining.

Romano Fenati was suspended by his own Sky Racing VR46 team the night before the race. It remains to be seen if he will be back for next weekend's Brno round.



Loading Comments...