Lorenzo Baldassarri took victory after a last lap battle with long-term leader Alex Rins to secure his first world championship win in the San Marino Moto2 Grand Prix.

The Forward Team rider had looked fiery in the opening laps to ensure he was in contention, before reeling in leader Rins, who had made a break at the front.

The Italian made his move for the lead with two laps to go but Rins kept him honest, putting in a last attack which sent him wide at turn twelve. Baldassarri becomes the first Italian Moto2 Misano winner since Andrea Iannone in 2012.

Rins gave everything given the pain he still carries in his shoulder and was far enough in front of third to easily keep his second place for Paginas Amarillas HP40. The Spaniard also cuts Johann Zarco's title lead to just three points.

Taka Nakagami broke clear of the rest of the men in the battle for third in the closing stages to take the final podium spot for Idemitsu, despite feeling a lack of grip from his worn tyres, echoing his performance of last season where he also took third.

Ajo Motorsport's Johann Zarco could not repeat his pole-to win heroics from last year and mainly kept quiet in the chaos of the battle for the final rostrum spot, picking up a few places to climb to fourth and cut the damage to his title lead.

Franco Morbidelli's Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS carried huge battle scars down the side as he scrapped his way to fifth. Silverstone winner Tom Luthi was the last of the group in sixth for Interwetten.

Hafizh Syahrin pushed his Petronas Race line Malaysia bike ahead of Jonas Folger on the Dynavolt Intact GP machine for seventh after being together on track for the whole race.

Folger's team-mate Sandro Cortese took ninth, with Alex Marquez putting both Marc VDS bikes inside the top ten.

Marcel Schrotter took eleventh for AGR, Xavi Vierge was the top rookie in twelfth for Tech3, just beating Forward's Luca Marini to the honours as he finished next in 13th. Ratthapark Wilairot (Idemitsu) and Jesko Raffin (SAG) scored the remaining points on offer in 14th and 15th respectively.

It was not a good day to be a Speed Up rider - Xavier Simeon, Julian Simon and Simone Corsi all fell over the first two laps.

Axel Pons also exited on lap one, with Mattia Pasini another early casualty. Danny Kent crashed out at turn four with 19 laps to go. There were no British finishers when Sam Lowes pushed hard while hot in the battle for third and appeared to find a bump sending his Gresini tumbling again.

Leopard's Miguel Oliveira soon followed his team-mate Kent after running 10th, Iker Lecuona (replacing Dominique Aegerter) looked good for points before he too succumbed to the Misano gravel. Edgar Pons was the final faller.


Loading Comments...