Jorge Navarro timed his final charge to perfection to snatch victory in the Aragon Moto3 race, while just behind him a gutsy simultaneous move by Brad Binder handed the South African the Moto3 title.

Estrella Galicia 0,0 rider Navarro put all his recent injury woes behind him to pull ahead of the lead quartet, handing Honda their first win in Aragon. Though the Spaniard performed brilliantly, the race stakes were high, with Binder able to win the world championship with an incredible four races in hand.

Title rival Enea Bastianini put his Gresini in front at the start of the final lap and fought to keep the championship open on the drag to the line, but Navarro and Binder's straight-line speed proved too much leaving him third.

Binder was able to celebrate with the expected t-shirt and gold number combination after he took a calculated risk on the final corner, which initially looked to have not paid off, but he rallied and fought his way past on the straight to claim second, enough to take the title.

The Red Bull KTM Ajo rider becomes the first South African to win a grand prix title since Jon Eckerold won the 350cc class back in 1980.

The final member of the lead pack, Fabio Di Giannantonio was the man to miss out on the podium places, bringing the second Gresini home in fourth.

Joan Mir was the best of the rest on the second Estrella Galicia entry, an incredible performance in fifth given he sat out Friday practice with a stomach bug.

Behind him Jorge Martin and Aron Canet were at war, with the Aspar Mahindra rider beating the Leopard man to the line for sixth.

Gabriel Rodrigo had his best race result to date for RBA in eighth, just ahead of his team-mate Juanfran Guevara on track.

The final top ten spot went to Philipp Oettl, the Schedl GP Racing rider had lead the race briefly but ran wide and off track on the final lap.

Andrea Migno was the best of the Sky Racing VR46 team riders in eleventh, he was well clear of Fabio Quartararo who crossed the line in twelfth for Leopard.

The battle for the final points was fierce, John McPhee finished ahead of his group on track for 13th for Peugeot MC Saxoprint, beating Niccolo Antonelli into 14th for Ongetta, Bo Bendsneyder picked up the final point on the second Red Bull KTM Ajo bike in 15th.

The first Mexican to grace the world championship, Gabriel Martinez-Abrego finished his debut wild-card ride in 30th

Fabio Spiranelli and Stefano Valtulini failed to clear the first corner while Maria Herrera, Nicolo Bulega and Jakub Kornfeil all also tangled and failed to finish the first lap. There were no further fallers in the race.


Loading Comments...