Maverick Vinales won his second successive race on the Movistar Yamaha in Argentina as reigning MotoGP world champion Marc Marquez dramatically slid out of the lead.

Vinales became the first Yamaha rider since Wayne Rainey in 1990 to win the opening two rounds of the season to stretch his championship lead, while team-mate Valentino Rossi put a difficult weekend behind him to clinch the runner-up spot from Cal Crutchlow on the LCR Honda.

It was a miserable day for Jorge Lorenzo, who came off on the opening lap at the first corner on the Ducati after appearing to run into the rear of Ecstar Suzuki's Andrea Iannone, who was later penalised with a ride-through penalty for jumping the start.

Marquez stormed into the lead from pole and quickly opened a cushion over Crutchlow, Vinales and Rossi. The Spaniard was easing away at the front until disaster struck when he lost the front of his Repsol Honda at Turn 2. His team-mate, Dani Pedrosa, also came off at the same place later in the race to compound the factory team's woes at the Termas de Rio Hondo circuit.

Vinales had passed Crutchlow for second place before Marquez went down and took up the running on the YZR-M1. The young Spaniard gradually edged clear as Rossi pressured Crutchlow for second place.

With seven laps remaining, The Doctor made his move with a pass at Turn 5 and managed to open a slight gap over the LCR Honda rider, going on to close out his second podium this year on his 350th Grand Prix start - 2.9 seconds behind Vinales.

The hapless Pedrosa had been holding fourth place after eventually shrugging off Monster Tech 3 Yamaha's Johann Zarco following a brief battle when he went down.

There was more drama when Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso was wiped out by Aleix Espargaro's Gresini Aprilia, who slid off at Turn 5. Dovizioso had ran wide but was hit by Espargaro's machine when the Spaniard came off as he went under Dovi on the inside. It is the second successive year Dovizioso has been on the receiving end of another rider's mistake after his then Ducati team-mate, Andrea Iannone, took him out as they disputed second place on the final lap at the last corner in 2016.

Alvaro Bautista came through to take an excellent fourth on the Aspar Ducati ahead of Zarco and Jonas Folger on the Tech 3 satellite Yamaha machines. Danilo Petrucci finished seventh on the Octo Pramac Ducati in front of team-mate Scott Redding, while Aussie Jack Miller was ninth (EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda).

Karel Abraham, who qualified in second place on the Aspar Ducati GP15, rounded out the top ten narrowly from Avintia Racing's Loris Baz.

KTM's Pol Espargaro and Bradley Smith finished 14th and 15th respectively behind Tito Rabat (EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda) and Hector Barbera (Avintia Racing).

Suzuki's Iannone was the final finisher on the GSX-RR after his earlier ride-through penalty.

Argentina MotoGP:1.Maverick Vi?ales2.Valentino Rossi3.Cal Crutchlow4.Alvaro Bautista5.Johann Zarco6.Jonas Folger7.Danilo Petrucci8.Scott Redding9.Jack Miller10.Karel Abraham11.Loris Baz12.Tito Rabat13.Hector Barbera14.Pol Espargaro15.Bradley Smith16.Andrea Iannone
Andrea Dovizioso
Aleix Espargaro
Dani Pedrosa
Sam Lowes
Alex Rins
Marc Marquez
Jorge Lorenzo

CLICK HERE for full results.

Cal Crutchlow - Career Profile by Crash_net



Loading Comments...