Joan Mir had to push hard over the final few corners to lead over the line, much to the pleasure of the home fans to win the The Catalan Moto3 Grand Prix.

The jubilant Leopard rider rode forcefully but smoothly on the Honda to pass Romano Fenati and Jorge Martin, increasing his championship lead to a hefty 45 points.

Mir was punching the air - not only celebrating his fourth win of the year, but also his new contract with Marc VDS in Moto2 next season.

After Mir forced open the door at Turn 13, Fenati followed him through at the final chicane for Marinelli Rivacold Snipers to move back to second in the championship.

The all Honda podium was completed by the unlucky Jorge Martin, after starting from pole and leading the final lap all the way until turn ten when his rivals started to push for the win, the Gresini rider finished third and is still hunting for his first victory.

Enea Bastianini had made his way past Mir at the start of the lap and had looked to had done enough to keep the Spaniard behind him before his determined final lunge to the front, leaving the Estrella Galicia rider off the podium in fourth.

His team-mate Aron Canet was also raced out of contention to fifth, while Marcos Ramirez was once again the top KTM besting the 'factory' riders with Platinum Bay Real Estate for a fine sixth.

Mugello winner Andrea Migno was the best of the Sky Racing Team VR46 riders, gaining a huge 13 places in the race to secure a seventh place finish, holding off his fellow countrymen Fabio DiGiannantonio (Gresini) who lead briefly and Niccolo Antonelli ( Red Bull KTM Ajo) finishing eighth and ninth respectively.

Another Italian, Nicolo Bulega, finished tenth after making all the moves to catch the lead eight on his Sky Racing Team VR46 machine.

Tatsuki Suzuki made his own move to catch the leaders before fading back to eleventh forSIC58 Squadra Corse, with John McPhee battling him all the way for twelfth.

Philipp Oettl worked hard to pick off the places to the points for an eventual 13th for Sudmetall Schedl GP Racing, Marco Bezzecchi was the best of the rookies in 14th for CIP, while Bo Bendsneyder (Red Bull KTM Ajo) held enough of an advantage over the line to collect the final point on offer.

Though this was the final result over the line, a penalty for Antonelli shortly after saw him move back to 11th, shuffling Di Giannantonio to 7th, Migno to 8th, Bulega to 9th and Suzuki to 10th.

Wild-card Vincente Perez was the first faller lasting six laps, with Barcelona resident Gabriel Rodrigo the next to exit with 15 laps remaining, he left on a stretcher after being clattered by his bike.

In the battle for the minor points places Darryn Binder, Juanfran Guevara and Jules Danilo all fell on the final lap.

Though present in the paddock, Albert Arenas missed the race through injury.

Want more? CLICK HERE for the MotoGP Homepage...



Loading Comments...