Aron Canet survived all the barging and pushing to hit the front entering the final corner and hold on to the line and win a frantic Dutch Moto3 Grand Prix.

The Estrella Galicia rider had worked hard to catch the initial lead group of six, bringing a train of riders along with him to the front after losing touch avoiding the early turn 16 fallers.

Once back in contention the Honda man worked hard in the group of eleven to move to the front of the pack and worked out the best place to brake in the final corner to stay ahead, pulling out a perfectly executed pass on the final corner to push Fenati to second over the line.

The Spaniards second win of the year moves him to second in the championship behind Mir, now two points ahead of the Italian.

Fenati also had work to do at the beginning of the race, he qualified down in 15th and immediately took to moving through the pack, up to seventh at the end of lap one, before regularly hitting the front to show his intention to pick up a podium finish.

The Marinelli Rivacold Snipers rider piked up his first Assen rostrum in second.

John McPhee made up an incredible sixteen places to join the leaders, also briefly leading the race before crossing the line an excellent third for the British Talent Team, completing the all Honda podium.

Pole-sitter Jorge Martin had looked strong at the front before he caught the side of Gabriel Rodrigo, sending him wide and to the back of the lead group. The Gresini rider gathered himself and worked his way back to fourth, his first win still eluding him as the record of no pole man winning in Assen in the Moto3 class remains true.

Jules Danilo took the chequered flag in fifth after avoiding trouble on the second Marinelli Rivacold Snipers entry, while Marcos Ramirez, who also flirted with the lead in the closing stages, took sixth for Platinum Bay Real Estate and was the best of the KTM riders after making up a huge seventeen places on his grid position.

Rodrigo survived his clash with Martin to take seventh for RBA, just holding off Tatsuki Suzuki who finished eighth for SIC58 Squadra Corse.

Championship leader Joan Mir was raced out of contention after starting the final lap in first place, ninth for Leopard, cutting his title lead down to 30 points.

Nicolo Bulega, who had been off the lead group for the entire race, found himself up in tenth at the line for Sky Racing VR46 after local rider Bo Bendsneyder crashed over the line and was later removed from the position after a strong race at the front.

Philipp Oettl also benefited from the late drama at the front moving into eleventh for Sudmetall Schedl GP, he was nearly a second ahead of twelfth place man Juanfran Guevara on the second RBA entry.

The remaining points on offer went to Darryn Binder (Platinum Bay Real Estate) in 13th, Andrea Migno (Sky Racing Team VR46) in 14th and top rookie Ayumu Sasaki (SIC Racing Team) in 15th.

Adam Norrodin joined Bendsneyder joined Bendsneyder in crashing out of contention on the final lap, Raul Fernandez left the race on the penultimate run around the circuit.

Enea Bastianini and Fabio Di Giannantonio both fell on lap two at turn 16 in separate incidents, with wild-card Ryan Van De Lagemaat exiting on the same lap.

Lorenzo Dalla Porta lasted just one lap longer, Manuel Pagliani suffered a huge highside with fifteen laps remaining, while Tony Arbolino retired to the pits shortly after.

Niccolo Antonelli missed the race after crashing on Saturday, where he sustained further injury, picking up a dislocated shoulder and back pain.


Loading Comments...