2007 world champion Gabor Talmacsi has taken his third victory of the season during the penultimate round of the 125cc World Championship, at Sepang in Malaysia.

The Hungarian shot past pole sitter Andrea Iannone to lead into turn, with the pair then pulling swiftly away from the pursuing pack before Talmacsi broke the Italian's challenge and accelerated to a five-second lead.

Iannone soon found himself being reeled in by Bradley Smith, who had charged forward from 13th on the grid. The young Briton put his Polaris World Aprilia into second place by the halfway stage and set his eights on eroding Talmacsi's lead.

Smith had sliced Talmacsi's advantage down to 2.7sec by the start of the last lap, but ran out of time and was forced to settle for his fourth podium of the season.

Talmacsi, who will move to the 250cc class next season (when his Aspar seat will be given to Smith) is now up to second in the world championship standings.

A frantic fight for third went right to the flag, with Simone Corsi edging out Sandro Cortese by just 0.029secs, while newly crowned world champion Mike di Meglio was a fraction further behind in fifth.

Front row qualifier Danny Webb, having had problems starting his bike for the warm-up lap, was then given a jump start penalty for 'failing to start from the back of the grid'.

Race result - Sepang:

1. Talmacsi (Aprilia)
2. Smith (Aprilia) +3.416sec
3. Corsi (Aprilia) +6.896sec
4. Cortese (Aprilia) +6.925sec
5. di Meglio (Derbi) +7.115sec
6. Espargaro (Derbi) +15.122sec
7. Olive (Derbi) +21.805sec
8. Aergerter (Derbi) +21.869sec
9. Terol (Aprilia) +21.958sec
10. Iannone (Aprilia) +23.615sec

Redding (Aprilia) DNF
Webb (Aprilia) DNF



Loading Comments...