Joan Mir sat in the pack before pulling out all the stops to take his eighth win of the year - becoming the first rider to do so in a Moto3 season - at the Aragon Grand Prix.

The Leopard rider had impressive pace at the end of the race and timed his move to the front to perfection in front of the home crowd, with some controversial weaving down the back straight ensuring he was in front at the chequered flag, by just 0.043s.

Mir moves ever closer to the championship title, with a crowning possible in Japan after extending his points tally to 271, a massive 80 points clear of nearest rival Romano Fenati.

Both Gresini’s Fabio Di Giannantonio, who broke the lap record in the race to move into the front group from 14th on the grid, and Enea Bastianini ( Estrella Galicia 0,0) were keen to continue the talk about the weaving in parc ferme, with both Italians aggrieved but on the all-Honda podium in second and third respectively.

It was once again Gresini’s Jorge Martin who missed out on a win after a huge stint out front over the shortened thirteen laps after the fog had cleared, failing to capitalise on his seventh pole in an unfortunate fourth.

Aron Canet was also in the mix on the second Estrella Galicia entry before crossing the line in fifth, with John McPhee making a huge step forward midway through the race for the British Talent Team as he pushed forward to sixth.

Marcos Ramirez (Platinum Bay Real Estate) was again the top KTM rider in seventh, with the wildcard Dennis Foggia showing why he is dominating the junior word championship as the best of the VR46 riders with his Junior Riders Acaademy Team in eighth.

A wild lap late on saw Philipp Oettl (Sudmetall Schedl GP Racing)drop to ninth with Misano winner Romano Fenati completing the top ten for the Snipers team after struggling to find a way through the pack.

Andrea Migno was next to see the chequerd flag in eleventh for Sky Racing VR46, just of RBA’s Juanfran Guevara in twelfth.

The remaining points on offer went to birthday boy Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Squadra Corse) in 13th, Nicolo Bulega (Sky Racing Team VR46) in 14th and Adam Norrodin (SIC Racing Team) in 15th.

Narakin Atiratphuvapat was the first to exit, with Gabriel Rodrigo the only other faller, after coming off worse following contact with both his team-mate Guevara and Bulega.



Loading Comments...