Phillip Oettl took his first ever Moto3 victory as he held off Marco Bezzecchi in the drag to the line in the Spanish Grand Prix at Jerez.

The Sudmetal Schedl GP racing rider topped a rare all Kalex podium after surviving a last-gasp slipstream challenge from Bezzecchi (Redox PruestelGP) after leading for most of the race. His win by just 0.059s kept the record of no Moto3 rider having won from pole after starting second on the grid.

Oettl, who turned 22 on Thursday stated the win was the ‘best birthday gift I could give myself’ and celebrated with his ex-rider father Peter with the win a massive achievement for their small private team.

Bezzecchi, the winner in Argentina, now leads the championship standings after by eight points after his third podium finish in a row.

The pair were clear on track after Aron Canet cleared out championship rival Jorge Martin while his bike was out of control, the pair also took the then race leader Enea Bastianini and Tony Arbolino with them in the turn six pile-up.

The chasing group were lead over the line by top rookie Lorenzo Lopez, who was third on lap three before an over-zealous overtake on Oettl dropped him to sixteenth, and Oettl to sixth. He rallied on his Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda for third, before being penalised at the close of the race for exceeding track limits, leaving the impressive youngster fourth.

Marcos Ramirez inherited the final podium spot for Bester Capital Dubai, and was pleased to have survived the early laps where his different tyre choice of a medium rear left him with ‘a bad feeling’ and a lot of slipping to contend with.

His rookie team-mate Jaume Masia also impressed, having qualified down in 25th he battled his way up to fifth at the line.

Tatsuki Suzuki was not far behind in a fierce duel to the chequered flag in sixth for SIC58 Squadra Corse. He was swiftly followed by Fabio Di Giannanntonio, who got swallowed up in the latter stages , dropping to seventh for Gresini, Jakub Kornfeil in eighth on the second Redox PruestelGP entry and Kaito Toba (Honda Team Asia) in ninth.

Nico Antonelli (SIC58 Squadra Corse) originally completed the top ten finishers but he too had to drop a position elevating Gabriel Rodrigo to the position for RBA.

The rest of the points on offer went to Ayumu Sasaki (Petronas Sprinter Racing) in 12th, Andrea Migno (Angel Nieto Team Moto3 ) in 13th, rookie Makar Yurchenko, who claimed his first world championship points in 14th for CIP- Green Power and wild-card rider Ai Ogura for Asia Talent Team.

Pre-race sanctions were handed out to Andrea Migno, Jeremy Alcoba and Adam Norrodin, who each received a twelve place penalty for irresponsible riding in qualifying.

The expected first corner tumble saw John McPhee clip Lorenzo Dalla Porta who in turn skittled off Dennis Foggia.Wild-card rider Alcoba also fell on the first lap. Albert Arenas retired a few laps later.

Darryn Binder missed the race after dislocating his shoulder in qualifying.