Jorge Martin pulled the pin over the last two laps to take victory at round eight, the Moto3 Dutch Grand Prix at Assen.

The Del Conca Gresini pole-sitter charged away at the start lights only to be reeled back in by Aron Canet, with a five-way battle then lasting for almost the entire race.

Martin was patient in the group, fighting against his injuries following a crash earlier in the weekend and timed his break to perfection as the wind picked up making conditions trickier in the final laps.

By the chequered flag the Spaniard was clear, winning by a gap of 0.665s to become the first Moto3 rider to win from pole at Assen.

His fourth win this season was finally enough to return him to the top of the championship standings with a tally of 105 points, but just two ahead of Marco Bezzecchi who crashed out on the final lap.



Aron Canet’s return to form saw him claim second at the line at the track where he won last year for Estrella Galicia 0,0, pipping Enea Bastianini, who had to settle for third with his Leopard team, completing an all Honda podium.

Bezzecchi was not the only rider to fall in the closing stages, with John McPhee also exiting from the lead group on the penultimate lap. They were the only riders to crash out of the race.

Ten seconds later the chasing group arrived at the finish with rookie Jaume Masia pushing his way up to fourth for Bester Capital Dubai - the top KTM finisher.

He overtook long-time leader of the group Jakub Kornfeil, who did well to rise to the front after receiving a 12-place grid penalty, but the Czech rider was still pleased with his fifth, a good result for Redox PruestelGP on the day their other rider lost the championship lead with a fall.

Lorenzo Dalla Porta (Leopard) edged out Darryn Binder (Red Bull KTM Ajo) at the line for sixth and seventh respectively, with Gabriel Rodrigo not far behind in eighth for RBA.

Gresini’s Fabio DI Giannantonio was next to see the chequered flag in ninth, being stuck in the second group after the leaders broke on lap two sees him slip to third in the overall standings.

Marcos Ramirez completed the top ten for Bester Capital Dubai after his time penalty for cutting the chicane was applied.

Nicolo Bulega sat third on the grid but a poor start saw him drop down to eleventh by the first corner, the Sky Racing VR46 man dropped lower still before rallying back for eleventh, his team-mate, Dennis Foggia recorded a 12th place finish against the odds - the Italian rookie received a 12-place penalty before the race and a time penalty in the race for cutting the corner at the chicane.

Tatsuki Suzuki finished 13th for SIC58 Squadra corse. The remaining points on offer went to more riders who saw sanctions before the race - Albert Arenas was penalised for his actions in Catalunya but fought back for 14th for the Angel Nieto Team, while Nico Antonelli was another rider who gained a time penalty in the race (along with Philipp Oettl and Alonso Lopez) on his way to 15th on the second SIC Squadra Corse entry.

Ai Ogura (Asia Talent Team) was the best of the wildcard entries in 23rd, while home rider Ryan Van De Lagemaat (Lamotec Lagemaat Racing) was lapped by the leaders in the closing stages and finished last.


Loading Comments...