The first night of the final 2016 MotoGP test took place at Losail in Qatar on Wednesday.

The injured Danilo Petrucci is the only competitor not present for the third official test, factory test rider Michele Pirro taking his place, while Aprilia is re-joining its rivals after skipping Phillip Island in favour of a private (Losail) test for the new RS-GP.

Reigning world champion Jorge Lorenzo put a tough Phillip Island test behind him, and overcame some stiff opposition from Suzuki star Maverick Vinales, to set the fastest lap time.

Last year's Qatar winner Valentino Rossi fell on his out-lap, but later claimed third on the timesheets.

Ducati's Andrea Iannone was another to feature in P1 on his way to an eventual fourth place, followed on the timesheets by fellow Desmosedici riders Scott Redding, Hector Barbera and Andrea Dovizioso.

Repsol Honda debuted some small winglets on the side of their factory RC213Vs in the hands of test rider Hiroshi Aoyama, on a night when LCR's Cal Crutchlow led the Honda challenge in seventh.

Stefan Bradl was the quickest of the Aprilia riders, in 18th.

Testing took place from 4pm to 11pm, but most waited until after sunset (around 6pm) before taking to the track, then halted testing at 10pm due to dropping temperatures.

Red flags briefly appeared at 9:35pm while checks were made of the track conditions, Crutchlow and Aleix Espargaro having fallen in quick succession, prompting speculation that dew was starting to form.

Testing continues on Thursday and Friday. The season-opening race will then be held at the same circuit from March 17-20...

1.=Jorge LorenzoESPMovistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)1m 55.452s[Lap 23/36]2.=Maverick Vi?alesESPTeam Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)1m 55.880s +0.428s[28/44]3.=Valentino RossiITAMovistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)1m 55.894s +0.442s[31/34]4.=Andrea IannoneITADucati Team (Desmosedici GP16)1m 56.119s +0.667s[53/53]5.=Scott ReddingGBROcto Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15)1m 56.213s +0.761s[27/46]6.=Hector BarberaESPAvintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2)1m 56.320s +0.868s[27/27]7.=Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (Desmosedici GP16)1m 56.388s +0.936s[46/52]8.=Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)1m 56.510s +1.058s[21/36]9.=Bradley SmithGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)1m 56.517s +1.065s[23/38]10.=Marc MarquezESPRepsol Honda Team (RC213V)1m 56.523s +1.071s[29/45]11.=Aleix EspargaroESPTeam Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)1m 56.552s +1.100s[25/35]12.=Pol EspargaroESPMonster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)1m 56.747s +1.295s[34/43]13.=Dani PedrosaESPRepsol Honda Team (RC213V)1m 56.910s +1.458s[26/27]14.Yonny HernandezCOLAspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2)1m 57.021s +1.569s[39/40]15.Loris BazFRAAvintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2)1m 57.121s +1.669s[31/32]16.=Jack MillerAUSEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)1m 57.850s +2.398s[33/37]17.=Michele PirroITAOcto Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15)1m 57.891s +2.439s[48/50]18.=Tito RabatESPEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)*1m 58.016s +2.564s[36/38]19.=Stefan BradlGERFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)1m 58.066s +2.614s[14/26]20.=Eugene LavertyIRLAspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2)1m 58.269s +2.817s[32/34]21.=Hiroshi AoyamaJPNHonda Test Rider (RC213V)1m 58.744s +3.292s[28/52]22.=Alvaro BautistaESPFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)1m 58.753s +3.301s[16/16]23.=Takuya TsudaJPNSuzuki Test Rider (GSX-RR)2m 0.578s +5.126s[35/45]

Key: Rider has a higher position relative to end of previous hour.= Rider has the same position as end of previous hour. Rider has a lower position relative to end of previous hour.

Blue Name = No Concessions.
7 engine changes for the season. Engines must be identical throughout season within same team (development freeze). 5 days of private testing.Black Name = Concessions.
9 engine changes. No engine development freeze. Unlimited private testing.* Rookie

Latest Updates: Follow @Crash_MotoGP
Official Qatar MotoGP records:Best lap: Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 53.927s (2008)Fastest race lap:Casey Stoner AUS Ducati 1m 55.153s (2008)


Loading Comments...