Thomas Luthi holds off championship leader Johann Zarco to win the Japanese Moto2 race, his third victory of the season. Franko Morbidelli completes the podium after a last lap duel with home star Takaaki Nakagami for third.

Alex Rins, who injured his shoulder on Friday, fell on the opening lap - with Sam Lowes slipping off soon after. Rins remounted to finish 20th.

Zarco, who began the race just one point ahead of Rins, will now take a 21-point lead into next weekend's Phillip Island round. Luthi is now up to third in the standings, 43-points behind Zarco with 75 still available.

1.Thomas LuthiSWI Garage Plus Interwetten (Kalex)42m 45.854s2.Johann ZarcoFRA Ajo Motorsport (Kalex)42m 46.240s3.Franco MorbidelliITA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (Kalex)42m 51.717s4.Takaaki NakagamiJPN IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia (Kalex)42m 51.944s5.Sandro CorteseGER Dynavolt Intact GP (Kalex)43m 2.100s6.Simone CorsiITA Speed Up Racing (Speed Up)43m 6.258s7.Mattia PasiniITA Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex)43m 6.537s8.Julian SimonSPA QMMF Racing Team (Speed Up)43m 6.614s9.Marcel SchrotterGER AGR Team (Kalex)43m 10.248s10.Xavier SimeonBEL QMMF Racing Team (Speed Up)43m 12.967s11.Xavi ViergeSPA Tech 3 Racing (Tech 3)43m 16.012s12.Luca MariniITA Forward Team (Kalex)43m 18.137s13.Hafizh SyahrinMAL Petronas Raceline Malaysia (Kalex)43m 18.245s14.Tetsuta NagashimaJPN Ajo Motorsport Academy (Kalex)43m 21.202s15.Isaac Vi?alesSPA Tech 3 Racing (Tech 3)43m 21.340s16.Edgar PonsSPA Paginas Amarillas HP 40 (Kalex)43m 25.412s17.Jesko RaffinSWI Sports-Millions-EMWE-SAG (Kalex)43m 25.544s18.Ratthapark WilairotTHA IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia (Kalex)43m 31.112s19.Remy GardnerAUS Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto2 (Kalex)43m 33.764s20.Alex RinsSPA Paginas Amarillas HP 40 (Kalex)43m 50.577s21.Naomichi UramotoJPN Japan-GP2 (Kalex)43m 51.770s22.Taro SekiguchiJPN Team Taro Plus One (TSR)44m 12.490s
Iker LecuonaSPA Technomag Racing Interwetten (Kalex)DNF
Axel PonsSPA AGR Team (Kalex)DNF
Lorenzo BaldassarriITA Forward Team (Kalex)DNF
Alex MarquezSPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (Kalex)DNF
Danny KentGBR Leopard Racing (Kalex)DNF
Jonas FolgerGER Dynavolt Intact GP (Kalex)DNF
Sam LowesGBR Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 (Kalex)DNF
Robin MulhauserSWI CarXpert Interwetten (Kalex)DNF

By Peter McLaren


Loading Comments...