Marc Marquez fastest during Free Practice 1 for the Australian MotoGP at a sunny but cool Phillip Island.

Marquez plus the likes of Jack Miller, Valentino Rossi, Maverick Vinales and Dani Pedrosa remained on a medium rear tyre. Johann Zarco, Andrea Dovizioso, Pol Espargaro and Bradley Smith were among those that put in a soft rear for the final minutes.

Home star Miller is returning to action after breaking his right tibia in a trials incident on September 29.

Tech 3's Jonas Folger returned to Germany on the eve of the Motegi round to undergo tests for a suspected recurrence of the Epstein Barr virus and is replaced this weekend by Broc Parkes.

1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 29.602s [Lap 11/22] 328km/h (Max)
2. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 29.695s +0.093s [22/22] 332km/h
3. Jack Miller AUS EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 29.724s +0.122s [20/21] 335km/h
4. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP17) 1m 29.753s +0.151s [21/21] 336km/h
5. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 29.781s +0.179s [20/21] 331km/h
6. Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 29.857s +0.255s [15/20] 334km/h
7. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 29.878s +0.276s [17/18] 333km/h
8. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP17) 1m 30.059s +0.457s [20/20] 328km/h
9. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 30.279s +0.677s [18/18] 333km/h
10. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 30.384s +0.782s [21/21] 332km/h
11. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 30.400s +0.798s [21/22] 327km/h
12. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 30.494s +0.892s [19/19] 325km/h
13. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 30.553s +0.951s [19/21] 331km/h
14. Karel Abraham CZE Pull&Bear Aspar (GP15) 1m 30.879s +1.277s [18/18] 335km/h
15. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac (GP16) 1m 31.001s +1.399s [16/18] 321km/h
16. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac (GP17) 1m 31.174s +1.572s [19/21] 331km/h
17. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 1m 31.329s +1.727s [18/23] 332km/h
18. Hector Barbera ESP Reale Avintia (GP16) 1m 31.457s +1.855s [8/12] 333km/h
19. Tito Rabat ESP EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 31.599s +1.997s [5/24] 323km/h
20. Loris Baz FRA Reale Avintia (GP15) 1m 31.614s +2.012s [19/22] 326km/h
21. Alvaro Bautista ESP Pull&Bear Aspar (GP16) 1m 31.994s +2.392s [19/19] 330km/h
22. Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* 1m 32.426s +2.824s [16/16] 322km/h
23. Broc Parkes JPN Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 33.054s +3.452s [18/19] 313km/h
* Rookie

Blue = Factory Team.
Red = Satellite Team.

Official Phillip Island MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 28.108s (2013)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 27.899s (2013)

By Peter McLaren



Loading Comments...