Aleix Espargaro and Aprilia lead Friday practice for the Australian MotoGP at Phillip Island, while the likes of Valentino Rossi and Jorge Lorenzo are left outside of the top ten.

Home star Jack Miller is returning to action after breaking his right tibia in a trials incident on September 29.

Tech 3's Jonas Folger returned to Germany on the eve of the Motegi round to undergo tests for a suspected recurrence of the Epstein Barr virus and is replaced this weekend by Broc Parkes.

1. ^11 Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 29.225s [Lap 5/20] 333km/h (Max)
2. ˅1 Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 29.230s +0.005s [20/21] 334km/h
3. ^1 Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP17) 1m 29.322s +0.097s [7/19] 338km/h
4. ^6 Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 29.329s +0.104s [19/21] 334km/h
5. = Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 29.423s +0.198s [7/20] 334km/h
6. ˅3 Jack Miller AUS EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 29.466s +0.241s [19/23] 334km/h
7. ˅1 Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 29.604s +0.379s [19/20] 337km/h
8. ˅6 Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 29.667s +0.442s [15/17] 334km/h
9. ^2 Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 29.702s +0.477s [19/22] 327km/h
10. ˅3 Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 29.760s +0.535s [20/22] 337km/h
11. ˅3 Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP17) 1m 29.820s +0.595s [18/19] 330km/h
12. ^1 Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 29.977s +0.752s [21/23] 334km/h
13. ^1 Karel Abraham CZE Pull&Bear Aspar (GP15) 1m 29.987s +0.762s [20/20] 338km/h
14. ˅5 Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 30.046s +0.821s [18/21] 337km/h
15. ^2 Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 1m 30.085s +0.860s [18/23] 334km/h
16. ˅1 Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac (GP16) 1m 30.140s +0.915s [18/20] 328km/h
17. ˅1 Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac (GP17) 1m 30.269s +1.044s [6/21] 339km/h
18. ^2 Loris Baz FRA Reale Avintia (GP15) 1m 30.274s +1.049s [15/16] 333km/h
19. = Tito Rabat ESP EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 30.546s +1.321s [19/24] 332km/h
20. ^2 Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* 1m 30.682s +1.457s [15/15] 327km/h
21. ˅3 Hector Barbera ESP Reale Avintia (GP16) 1m 30.777s +1.552s [17/17] 334km/h
22. ˅1 Alvaro Bautista ESP Pull&Bear Aspar (GP16) 1m 31.688s +2.463s [14/15] 334km/h
23. = Broc Parkes JPN Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 32.152s +2.927s [8/19] 325km/h
* Rookie

Blue = Factory Team.
Red = Satellite Team.

˄X Up X places from FP1.
= Rider has the same position as FP1.
˅X Down X places from FP1.
Fastest FP1 time:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 29.602s
Official Phillip Island MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 28.108s (2013)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 27.899s (2013)

By Peter McLaren



Loading Comments...