The 25th running of the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race will feature a ten-lap shoot-out for a $1m prize, Lowe's Motor Speedway officials have announced.

The event, which is set for 16 May, will now consist of four segments, concluding with the ten-lap 'winner takes all' sprint. The opening segment will be 50 laps, with a mandatory green flag pit-stop on lap 25. At that point, teams must pit for four tyres, before embarking on a 20-lap second segment, with the caution flag displayed at the end for an optional pit stop.

The third segment is also 20 laps with a ten-minute break at the end in which teams may make normal adjustments to their cars before tackling the ten-lap finale. The finishing order after the third segment will determine the starting positions for the final shootout.

Eligibility standards for the race remain the same, with race winners from the 2008 and 2009 seasons through to 9 May, plus any past champions of the All-Star event or Sprint Cup Series over the previous ten years, also permitted to start.

In addition, the top two finishers in the Sprint Showdown - the 40-lap preliminary race - and the winner of the Sprint Fan Vote will all advance into the line-up.

Incidentally, last year's All-Star winner, Kasey Kahne, was voted into the field by the fans.



Loading Comments...