Full qualifying results from Phoenix International Raceway

A day after he was confirmed in a full-time role with the team in 2015, Kyle Busch Motorsport's Erik Jones successfully captured pole position heading to the green flag for the Lucas Oil 150 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race at Phoenix International Raceway.

Jones is the defending race winner in Arizona, having claimed his maiden Truck victory this time last year in what was then just his fifth outing in the series making him at the time the youngest NASCAR national series winner in history. He's since notched up return visits to victory lane at Iowa and Las Vegas in 2014, despite running only a partial season of 11 races.

In clinching only his second series pole in 17 outings to date, Jones set the best time of anyone in qualifying with a lap of 26.562s (135.532mph) on the one-mile, low-banked tri-oval. That's a new track qualifying record for Phoenix, eclipsing the previous best of 26.778s (134.439mph) laid down by Nelson Piquet Jr. in 2012. Jones had also been fastest in the first 30-minute round of qualifying.

Jones finished the session 0.224s ahead of Matt Crafton in the #88 ThorSport Racing Toyota. Crafton notches up his 16th top-ten start of 2014 and his ninth in 14 races at Phoenix, putting him in a strong position to extend his lead in the 2014 championship standings which currently stands at 23 points over Brad Keselowski Racing's Ryan Blaney.

Blaney failed to make it through the first round of qualifying and will have to work his way up through the field from his starting position of 17th if he's to keep alive any hope of overhauling Crafton before next week's season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Behind Jones and Crafton on the front row will be Turner Scott Motorsports duo Ben Kennedy and Ben Rhodes, while GMS Racing's Joey Coulter will line up in fifth place on the grid alongside his team mate Spencer Gallagher.

Blaney's BKR team mate Tyler Reddick successfully captured seventh place on the grid putting him alongside SWM-NEMCO Motorsports, while row five is taken up by Darrell Wallace Jr. in the second KBM truck and Timothy Peters in the #17 Red Horse Racing Toyota.

NTS Motorsports pair Brennan Newberry and Austin Dillon also made it into the ten-minute final round of qualifying, while just missing out on transferring from the first round were the remaining ThorSports drivers Brennan Newberry and Johnny Sauter who will line up in 13th and 14th position just ahead of Gray Gaulding (NTS Motorsports) and Brandon Jones (GMS Racing).

There were no significant incidents during qualifying, and all 34 trucks entered in the race made it onto the starting grid for the 150-lap race which is due to get underway shortly after 6.30pm local time (1.30am) and run under the floodlights.

Full qualifying results from Phoenix International Raceway


Loading Comments...