NASCAR has announced the 2016 schedule for the third-tier national-level championship, the Camping World Truck Series, which will once more get underway at the newly-redeveloped Daytona International Speedway in February and will go on to again climax at Homestead-Miami Speedway in November after a season consisting of a total of 23 events at 21 different locations.

NASCAR had already previously announced next year's schedules for the Sprint Cup and Xfinity Series at the end of October. (See separate story.)

"For more than 20 years, the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series has been home to some of the closest side-by-side racing in the sport, and we're committed to delivering that to our fans for many years to come," said Steve O'Donnell, NASCAR executive vice president and chief racing development officer.

NASCAR recently announced that it had concluded five-year agreements with all its venues, meaning that there are no major changes to next year's schedule compared with 2015.

"We expect that the stability of five-year agreements will benefit the entire industry," commented O'Donnell. "We anticipate the continuation of compelling NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship battles, like the one we're watching unfold in 2015."

Following the lead of similar tweaks to the Sprint Cup and Xfinity Series calendar, the sprint races at Dover International Speedway and Charlotte Motor Speedway switch round in the running order, as do the June events at Iowa Speedway and Gateway Motorsports Park as well as the August races as Bristol Motor Speedway and Michigan International Speedway.

Two popular Wednesday night events return to the schedule for 2016, with direct track racing at Eldora Speedway on July 20 and a midweek visit to Bristol on August 17. Eldora had been the last of the Truck Series venues to be confirmed as signing up for five years, securing the popular unique event on the calendar through to at least 2020.

2016 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Schedule

February 19 - Daytona International SpeedwayFebruary 27 - Atlanta Motor SpeedwayApril 2 - Martinsville SpeedwayMay 6 - Kansas SpeedwayMay 13 - Dover International SpeedwayMay 20 - Charlotte Motor SpeedwayJune 10 - Texas Motor SuperspeedwayJune 18 - Iowa SpeedwayJune 25 - Gateway Motorsports ParkJuly 7 - Kentucky SpeedwayJuly 20 - Eldora SpeedwayJuly 30 - Pocono RacewayAugust 17 - Bristol Motor SpeedwayAugust 27 - Michigan International SpeedwaySeptember 4 - Canadian Tire Motorsport ParkSeptember 16 - Chicagoland SpeedwaySeptember 24 - New Hampshire Motor SpeedwayOctober 1 - Las Vegas Motor SpeedwayOctober 22 - Talladega SuperspeedwayOctober 29 - Martinsville SpeedwayNovember 4 - Texas Motor SpeedwayNovember 11 - Phoenix International RacewayNovember 18 - Homestead-Miami Speedway



Loading Comments...