By winning the Dover round of the McDonald's Drive-Thru Pit Championship, the #15 DEI NAPA Auto Parts pit crew for Michael Waltrip expanded its points lead for the inaugural drive-thru championship, which pays $20,000 to the winning pit crew at each race and $200,000 to the pit crew that accrues the most points during the 36-race season.

Last Sunday's performance was the second pit crew win of the season for Waltrip's team, which also won the opening round of the McDonald's Drive-Thru Pit Championship at the Daytona International Speedway. After 13 point races, Waltrip's crew holds a 43-point lead over the crew of fellow DEI driver Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Waltrip's pit crew claimed the Dover victory due to its car - the No. 15 NAPA Chevrolet - spending the least amount of time on pit road. The total time for Waltrip's car on pit road was 284 seconds, two fewer than the second-place Citgo Ford of Jeff Burton.

Coming in third was the pit crew of Bobby Labonte, whose Interstate Batteries Chevrolet was clocked with 290 seconds on pit road.

During each 2003 NASCAR Winston Cup points event, the participating team whose car spends the least amount of aggregate time off the race track will be named the weekly winner of the McDonald's Drive-Thru Pit Championship fuelled by POWERADE, provided the team's driver takes the green flag at the beginning of the event and the chequered flag at the conclusion of the event. A timing line at the entrance and exit of pit road triggers the car's transponder and records the total time spent off the race track.

The point distribution per race is: 43 points for first place, descending in increments of one.


Loading Comments...