Michael Waltrip's pit-crew claimed the McDonald's Drive-Thru Pit Championship fuelled by POWERade in Sunday's Samsung/RadioShack 500 at Texas Motor Speedway.

The #15 NAPA crew edged the #38 crew of race winner Elliott Sadler for the win and the $20,000 first-place cheque. Waltrip's Chevrolet spent the least amount of time on pit road in Texas - 218.010secs, while Sadler's M&M's Ford was clocked at 229.014secs to finish second. Dale Earnhardt's Budweiser Chevy was third with a time of 233.636secs.

"The NAPA crew guys continue to do an excellent job and we're excited about winning the McDonald's/POWERade contest in Texas," said crew chief Richard 'Slugger' Labbe, "We clicked off some excellent pit-stops and it's always gratifying to see that our guys are rewarded and recognised for their outstanding effort."

Waltrip's crew finished second in the overall McDonald's/POWERade championship standings in 2003 with five victories and $100,000 in prize money.

In the current McDonald's/POWERade season standings, Kurt Busch's #97 crew leads with 269 points. Sadler's crew is second with 262 and Earnhardt Jr's third with 260. The season champion receives a $200,000 bonus.

The over-the-wall pit crew for Waltrip's team consists of: Brian Chase (jackman), Jeff Opal (gasman), Chris Crumley (front tyre changer), Greg Osborne (rear tyre changer), Shawn Ward (front tyre carrier), Chad Walter (rear tyre carrier) and Pete Rondeau (catch can). The pit crew coach is Walt Smith.


Loading Comments...