NASCAR veteran Mike Wallace has left the Busch Series team owned by the Biagi Brothers for whom he has driven for during the past three years.

The #4 team, which carries sponsorship from GEICO, are planning to announce a new driver-development program with an existing Nextel Cup outfit, which is likely to mean that a 'young gun' will be placed behind the wheel of the #4 Busch Series team in 2005.

Although Wallace and the Biagi Bros. took an emotional win in this July's Winn-Dixie 250 at the Daytona International Speedway, Wallace scored just three other top ten finishes in 34 races and finished 17th in the points standings.

Wallace has been driving the #4 car since 2001, when Fred Biagi and himself decided to move forward with forming a NASCAR Busch Series race team. In the three years he has been in the car, the middle of the three racing Wallace brothers has helped build the team from a start up venture in 2001 to winning Daytona on July 2nd 2004, becoming only the 3rd non-Cup affiliated Busch team to win a race at Daytona since 1982.

"It has been a great opportunity to be a part of something that was new and watch it progress as we collectively built it," Wallace said. "It has been a great three years and now it is time for me to focus on other opportunities where I can contribute to a race team and continue to win races."

GEICO Senior Vice-President of Marketing, Ted Ward, spoke highly of Wallace. "Mike Wallace has been an integral part of growing our race program here at GEICO and the relationship he has developed with our employees on a national basis has been great.

"He is a true gentleman and family oriented person that exemplifies what we stand for at GEICO. We are thankful for all that he has done to bring about exposure and awareness to GEICO in the NASCAR community and, as far as we are concerned, Mike Wallace will always be a part of our family here at GEICO. We wish him continued success both on and off the racetrack."

Wallace made ten Nextel Cup starts in 2004 for a variety of teams including Arnold Motorsports, Phoenix Racing and Morgan McClure Motorsports scoring one top ten finish.



Loading Comments...