Joe Gibbs Racing hopes to have currently suspended Dave Rogers and Jason Ratcliff resume their Nationwide Series crew chief roles in time for the second race of the 2009 season, which comes at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, Calif.

For the organisation to do that, NASCAR would have to reinstate the crew chiefs before the start of the season, team president J.D. Gibbs said Tuesday night.

"When NASCAR officially says - which they haven't - (that) it's over, we'll hold them one more race," Gibbs said. "They haven't said what they're going to do. Hopefully they will say they're reinstated for next year, and we'll probably hold them from Daytona."

Rogers, Ratcliff and five other JGR crewmen were suspended indefinitely for rules violations last August. The team applied last week for their reinstatement, asking that it begin before the first race of the 2009 season.

Ratcliff will be the crew chief of the #18 car driven by Kyle Busch, and the #20 car with Rogers will be shared by drivers Joey Logano, Denny Hamlin and Brad Coleman.



Loading Comments...