Claiming the top spot at Texas this weekend is Elliott Sadler's eighth pole in his 427th start - but 168 starts since his most recent pole way back in May 2006 at Talladega. It's only Sadler's fourth top ten start this season. Sadler's lap at 195.397mph (27.636s) stunned the rest of the field, and was faster than previous fastest qualifying laps at Texas going back four years to Brian Vicker's 196.235mph pole time in 2006 that had just edged out Sadler himself.

The three remaining Chase leaders will all have to contend with heavy traffic early in Sunday's race: Jimmie Johnson qualified 17th, Kevin Harvick 26th and Denny Hamlin 30th. But Hamlin won't be too downcast, as he won the April race at Texas despite starting from 29th.

Six drivers failed to make the race: J.J. Yeley, Scott Riggs, Michael McDowell, Jeff Green, Josh Wise and Brian Keselowski.

Qualifying times

1. Elliott Sadler 27.636s
2. Greg Biffle -0.249s
3. Carl Edwards -0.250s
4. Juan Montoya -0.274s
5. David Ragan -0.282s
6. Kurt Busch -0.289s
7. Clint Bowyer -0.297s
8. Regan Smith -0.312s
9. Mark Martin -0.318s
10. A.J. Allmendinger -0.330s
11. Tony Stewart -0.332s
12. Paul Menard -0.376s
13. Aric Almirola -0.401s
14. Ryan Newman -0.435s
15. Jeff Gordon -0.490s
16. Jeff Burton -0.491s
17. Jimmie Johnson -0.498s
18. David Reutimann -0.505s
19. Matt Kenseth -0.506s
20. Joey Logano -0.523s
21. Martin Truex Jr. -0.526s
22. Dale Earnhardt Jr. -0.527s
23. Scott Speed -0.537s
24. Kasey Kahne -0.548s
25. Jamie McMurray -0.553s
26. Kevin Harvick -0.554s
27. Sam Hornish Jr. -0.558s
28. Trevor Bayne -0.623s
29. Kyle Busch -0.628s
30. Denny Hamlin -0.641s
31. Bobby Labonte -0.659s
32. Marcos Ambrose -0.661s
33. David Gilliland -0.755s
34. Joe Nemechek -0.767s
35. Casey Mears -0.827s
36. Brad Keselowski -0.840s
37 Patrick Carpentier -0.897
38. Mike Bliss -0.905s
39. Robby Gordon -0.958s
40. Andy Lally+ -0.992s
41. Travis Kvapil+ -1.189s
42. Dave Blaney+ -1.449s
43. Landon Cassill -0.936s

Did not qualify

44. J.J. Yeley -0.985s
45. Scott Riggs -0.988s
46. Michael McDowell -1.110s
47. Jeff Green -1.215s
48. Josh Wise -1.405s
49. Brian Keselowski -2.022s

+ Set by Owner Points* Denotes Rookie



Loading Comments...