Carl Edwards claimed his third pole position of the year in qualifying for this weekend's race, covering the one-mile distance in 26.395 seconds (136.389 mph). All three of his 2010 poles have come since the start of August, and contribute to a tally of 14 top ten starts for Edwards this year - nine of them in the last 12 races.

AJ Allmendinger will line up alongside him, amid deepening financial concerns for Richard Petty Motorsports that saw Allmendinger's car held under lock and key at Texas Motor Speedway until Wednesday, when RPM were able to make an overdue payment to engine and chassis supplier Roush Fenway Racing.

But meanwhile none of the three main Sprint Cup contenders made it into the top ten: Denny Hamlin came out best and will start in 17th place ahead of Jimmie Johnson (21st) and Kevin Harvick (29th).

Three drivers failed to qualify: Jason Leffler, Joe Nemechek and Michael McDowell, while Terry Labonte needed a champion's provisional to claim the final spot.

Qualifying times

1. Carl Edwards 26.395s
2. A.J. Allmendinger -0.027s
3. Kurt Busch -0.029s
4. Greg Biffle -0.126s
5. Jamie McMurray -0.141s
6. David Reutimann -0.164s
7. Kyle Busch -0.168s
8. Regan Smith -0.212s
9. Aric Almirola -0.227s
10. Joey Logano -0.231s
11. Martin Truex Jr. -0.231s
12. David Ragan -0.237s
13. Marcos Ambrose -0.242s
14. Clint Bowyer -0.254s
15. Matt Kenseth -0.255s
16. Sam Hornish Jr. -0.264s
17. Denny Hamlin -0.284s
18. Paul Menard -0.288s
19. Ryan Newman -0.288s
20. Tony Stewart -0.307s
21. Jimmie Johnson -0.308s
22. Jeff Gordon -0.311s
23. Elliott Sadler -0.311s
24. Casey Mears -0.318s
25. Kasey Kahne -0.320s
26. Bobby Labonte -0.372s
27. Scott Speed -0.385s
28. Mark Martin -0.392s
29. Kevin Harvick -0.400s
30. Brad Keselowski -0.416s
31. Dale Earnhardt Jr. -0.438s
32. Dave Blaney -0.468s
33. J.J. Yeley -0.482s
34. Robby Gordon -0.541s
35. Juan Montoya -0.546s
36. Mike Bliss -0.549s
37. David Gilliland -0.573s
38. Travis Kvapil -0.595s
39. Landon Cassill -0.603s
40. Jeff Burton -0.608s
41. Brendan Gaughan+ -0.837s
42. Tony Raines+ -1.099s
43. Terry Labonte Ch Prov

--. Jason Leffler -0.613s
--. Joe Nemechek -0.627s
--. Michael McDowell -0.651s

+ = Set by Owner Points



Loading Comments...