Dale Earnhardt Jr. is listed in pole position, but he will have to drop to the back of the field before the start of the race because of the practice crash that wrecked the car in which he set his qualifying time.

That means all the cars in the inside lane - those with odd-numbers - will 'bump-up' by effectively two positions for the double-file start, with Kurt Busch thereby inheriting pole in all but name as a result, Regan Smith moving up alongside Jeff Gordon on the second row, and Kevin Harvick then starting alongside Clint Bowyer on row three, and similarly right down the running order.

The front row of the starting line-up was decided by the top two times in the official Daytona qualifying last weekend, with Earnhardt Jr. and Gordon taking the top spots. After that, drivers had to wait for Thursday's Gatorade Duel races which set the remainder of the positions, with Kurt Busch's win in Duel 1 putting him on the inside lane of the second row and Jeff Burton's win in Duel 2 putting him alongside in the outside lane.

Despite a big last lap crash in his Duel event, Jeff Gordon looks set to retain his front row start after the team were able to rebuild the car in time to see him take to the track for the later of the two practice sessions on Friday afternoon.

Five drivers failed to qualify for the Daytona 500, while Terry Labonte relied on the champion's provisional entry that is available to the most recent past NASCAR champion not otherwise qualified for the race. Labonte was twice champion when the series was known as the Winston Cup, in 1984 and 1996.

The Daytona 500 will start at 1pm EST (6pm GMT) on Sunday, February 20. Fans will be asked to rise in a silent tribute to Dale Earnhardt Sr. during lap 3 - Earnhardt's old car number - who died in a crash at the event ten years ago.

Starting line-up

1. #88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Chevrolet *
2. #24 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet
3. #22 Kurt Busch Dodge
4. #31 Jeff Burton Chevrolet
5. #78 Regan Smith Chevrolet
6. #33 Clint Bowyer Chevrolet
7. #29 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet
8. #115 Michael Waltrip Toyota
9. #17 Matt Kenseth Ford
10. #18 Kyle Busch Toyota
11. #4 Kasey Kahne Toyota
12. #192 Brian Keselowski Dodge
13. #42 Juan Montoya Chevrolet
14. #1 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet
15. #43 A.J. Allmendinger Ford
16. #2 Brad Keselowski Dodge
17. #5 Mark Martin Chevrolet
18. #11 Denny Hamlin Toyota
19. #27 Paul Menard Chevrolet
20. #56 Martin Truex Jr. Toyota
21. #39 Ryan Newman Chevrolet
22. #99 Carl Edwards Ford
23. #48 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet
24. #0 David Reutimann Toyota
25. #14 Tony Stewart Chevrolet
26. #16 Greg Biffle Ford
27. #83 Brian Vickers Toyota
28. #37 Robert Richardson Jr. Ford
29. #9 Bill Elliott Chevrolet
30. #7 Robby Gordon Dodge
31. #47 Bobby Labonte Toyota
32. #21 Trevor Bayne Ford
33. #46 J.J. Yeley Chevrolet
34. #6 David Ragan Ford
35. #9 Marcos Ambrose Ford
36. #77 Steve Wallace Toyota
37. #71 Andy Lally Chevrolet
38. #20 Joey Logano Toyota
39. #34 David Gilliland Ford
40. #38 Travis Kvapil Ford
41. #87 Joe Nemechek Toyota
42. #36 Dave Blaney Chevrolet
43. #32 Terry Labonte Ford

Did Not Qualify

44. #64 Derrike Cope Toyota
45. #97 Kevin Conway Toyota
46. #60 Todd Bodine Toyota
47. #66 Michael McDowell Toyota
48. #13 Casey Mears Toyota

* - will move to the back of field before the start because of change of car.



Loading Comments...