Joe Nemechek earned his second NASCAR Nextel Cup pole position of the year, and his second in a row, his #01 US Army Chevrolet the only car to break 180mph in qualifying for Sunday's Banquet 400 at Kansas Speedway. Alongside him will be the #9 UAW/Dodge Dealers Dodge of Kasey Kahne, his team-mate Jeremy Mayfield joining fellow Nextel Cup chase contender Jimmie Johnson on the second row. The leading contenders are further back - second in the points Dale Earnhardt Jr starts eighth, series leader Kurt Busch 22nd, while if Jeff Gordon is to take his third victory in four races at Kansas he will have to come from 30th on the grid.

The Banquet 400 takes the green flag at around 2pm Eastern Time on Sunday, that's 7pm in the UK. Check back to for the full story.

Qualifying times, Banquet 400, Kansas Speedway, 2004 NASCAR Nextel Cup Series round 29 of 36.

1. Joe Nemechek #01 US Army Chevrolet MB2 Motorsports 180.156mph
2. Kasey Kahne *#9 Dodge Dealers/UAW DodgeEvernham Motorsports 179.253mph
3. Jeremy Mayfield #19 Dodge Dealers HEMI/UAW DodgeEvernham Motorsports 179.188mph
4. Jimmie Johnson #48 Lowe's Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports 179.045mph
5. Bobby Labonte #18 Interstate Batteries Chevrolet Joe Gibbs Racing 178.891mph
6. Greg Biffle #16 National Guard/Subway FordRoush Racing 178.453mph
7. Ryan Newman #12 ALLTEL Dodge Penske Racing 178.424mph
8. Dale Earnhardt Jr. #8 Budweiser Chevrolet Dale Earnhardt Incorporated 178.389mph
9. Dale Jarrett #88 UPS Ford Robert Yates Racing 178.347mph
10. Jamie McMurray #42 Texaco Havoline Dodge Chip Ganassi Racing 178.018mph
11. Elliott Sadler #38 Wizard of Oz/Pedigree Ford Robert Yates Racing 178.006mph
12. Ricky Rudd #21 Motorcraft/US Air Force FordWood Brothers Racing 177.995mph
13. Brendan Gaughan * #77 Wizard of Oz/Kodak/Jasper Engines DodgePenske/Jasper Racing 177.983mph
14. Scott Riggs * #10 Wizard of Oz/Valvoline Chevrolet MBV Motorsports 177.754mph
15. Matt Kenseth #17 DeWalt Ford Roush Racing 177.585mph
16. Carl Edwards #99 Roush Racing Ford Roush Racing 177.544mph
17. Jeff Burton # 30 America Online Chevrolet Richard Childress Racing 177.509mph
18. Mark Martin # 6 Viagra Ford Roush Racing 177.462mph
19. Terry Labonte #5 Kellogg's ChevroletHendrick Motorsports 177.462mph
20. Todd Bodine #50 Arnold Development Companies Dodge Arnold Racing 177.381mph
21. Casey Mears #41 Energizer/Target Breast Cancer Awareness DodgeChip Ganassi Racing 177.375mph
22. Kurt Busch #97 Sharpie/IRWIN FordRoush Racing 177.235mph
23. Robby Gordon #31 Cingular Wireless Chevrolet Richard Childress Racing 177.223mph
24. Tony Stewart #20 Home Depot Chevrolet Joe Gibbs Racing 177.171mph
25. Brian Vickers * #25 GMAC Financial Services Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports 176.927mph
26. Michael Waltrip #15 NAPA Auto Parts Chevrolet Dale Earnhardt Incorporated 176.794mph
27. Jeff Green #43 Cheerios Spoonful of Stories Dodge Petty Enterprises 176.638mph
28. Sterling Marlin #40 Coors Light Dodge Chip Ganassi Racing 176.459mph
29. Kevin Harvick #29 GM Goodwrench Chevrolet Richard Childress Racing 176.396mph
30. Jeff Gordon #24 Wizard of Oz/Dupont Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports 176.367mph
31. Bobby Hamilton Jr #32 Tide ChevroletPPI Motorsports 176.367mph
32. Ken Schrader #49 Schwan's Home Service Dodge BAM Racing 176.171mph
33. Jimmy Spencer #4 Lucas Oil Products Chevrolet Morgan-McClure Racing 176.108mph
34. Kyle Busch #84 CARQUEST Chevrolet Hendrick Motorsports 176.039mph
35. Ward Burton # 0 Netzero HiSpeed ChevroletHaas CNC Racing 175.970mph
36. Rusty Wallace #2 Miller Lite Dodge Penske Racing 175.137mph
37. Scott Wimmer * #22 Caterpillar Dodge Bill Davis Racing 174.933mph
38. Shame Hmiel #23 Bill Davis Racing Dodge Bill Davis Racing 174.876mph
39. Kyle Petty #45 Georgia Pacific/Brawny DodgePetty Enterprises 173.907mph (provisional)
40. Larry Gunselman #198 Mach One Inc Ford William Edwards 177.637mph (provisional)
41. Hermie Sadler #02 SCORE Motorsports FordSCORE Motorsports 172.623mph (provisional)
42. Kirk Shelmerdine #172 Vote For Bush Ford Kirk Shelmerdine 168.513mph (provisional)
43. Stanton Barrett #194 AmericInn/Racer'sEdge WW Motorsports no time (provisional)
Did not qualify
44. Mike Garvey #275 Janey King Dodge 174.402mph
45. Mike Wallace #135 Gary Keller Racing ChevroletGary Keller Racing 174.334mph
46. Carl Long #200 Buyers Choice Auto Warranties ChevroletRaynard McGlynn 171.920mph
47. Morgan Shepherd #89 Racing With Jesus/Red Line Oil Dodge Cindy Shepherd 168.146mph
* Rookie of the Year contender.



Loading Comments...