30.Andrea IannoneMotoGP World Championship - 9th

A headline grabbing season for 'Crazy Joe' - not always for the right reasons -, when Andrea Iannone was staying upright he was making quite the impression. Fearsomely quick and in tune with the Ducati, Iannone was a force to be reckoned with alongside the Honda and Yamaha but negated his efforts with clumsy errors that ultimately cost him his ride with Ducati. Their loss could well prove to be Suzuki's gain though...

29.Gordon SheddenBritish Touring Car Championship - Champion

Gordon Shedden made it three British Touring Car Championship titles in five seasons this year after prevailing against Sam Tordoff in a tense championship fight that once more went right down to the wire. As ever, BTCC 2016 served up competitive racing and catalogue of different winners, with Shedden's sheer consistency making the difference as he eked out a slim winner over his BMW rival in the final race of the year.

28.Ian HutchinsonIsle of Man TT - 3 wins

The Bingley Bullet was in imperious form this season and only Michael Dunlop threw a spanner in the works, denying the Tyco BMW rider a coveted victory in the blue riband Superbike and Senior races at the Isle of Man TT. Hutchinson won all three Superstock races at the North West 200, TT and Ulster Grand Prix and bagged a brilliant treble on the Mountain Course, winning both Supersport races on the Team Traction Control Yamaha along with the Superstock race. He dominated at the Ulster Grand Prix, clinching a four-timer and setting the first ever 134mph lap as he powered to a Superbike double on the Tyco BMW to cap a magnificent year.

Marco Wittmann

27.Marco WittmannDTM - Champion

Following a difficult defence of his 2014 title last year, Marco Wittmann bounced back in 2016 with a resounding title-winning performance for BMW in the DTM. Consistent points in the early rounds - topped by a win in Austria - saw him establish an early advantage, before two more wins later in the year proved crucial as he fended off the challenge of Edoardo Mortara to sneak a second championship crown in three years by a slender four points.

26.Tom SykesWorld Superbike Championship - 2nd

After being blindsided by the dominance of Jonathan Rea on his arrival to Kawasaki in 2015, Tom Sykes offered up more of a fight on the ZX-10R in 2016. Though his team-mate's superb start to the year made any title charge seem relatively slim early on, Sykes fought back with an impressive return to winning ways mid-season, 15 podiums from 17 races - including five wins - putting Rea under pressure before the Ulsterman stretched away again. Securing the runners-up spot, at the very least it was a confidence building season for the Yorkshireman.

25.Neel Jani - Romain Dumas - Marc LiebWorld Endurance Championship - ChampionLe Mans 24 Hours - Winners

Arguably the quickest trio in 2015 despite failing to win the title, though Porsche's Neel Jani, Marc Lieb and Romain Dumas discovered the luck they were missing last year as they reeled off the 2016 World Endurance Championship and Le Mans 24 Hours win, it did little to discredit their formidable efforts. Two wins from the opening three races, including that fortuitous Le Mans success set them up with a large lead they could afford to protect to the end of the season. Without scoring another podium in the remaining six races, the trio were comfortable title winners.

Pierre Gasly

25.Pierre GaslyGP2 Series - Champion

Beginning the season with something to prove under the Red Bull umbrella having failed to win a race in 2015, Pierre Gasly responded convincingly in 2016 with GP2 title success. Though he wouldn't top the podium until round five, Gasly formed a solid title charge from then on in tandem with Prema Racing team-mate Antonio Giovinazzi as they took their fight to a final round showdown. Despite beginning the Abu Dhabi finale in arrears of his team-mate, a convincing fourth win of the year would prove more than enough to meet Red Bull's lofty targets.

23.Michael DunlopIsle of Man TT - 2 wins
Michael Dunlop made up for the disappointment of 2015 when his move to the Milwaukee Yamaha team did not work out, making amends in stunning fashion at the Isle of Man TT. Dunlop won the headline Superbike and Senior races on the Hawk Racing BMW and underlined his authority with a new absolute lap record of 133.962mph around the Mountain Course as he twice had the beating of fierce rival Ian Hutchinson. Dunlop, who has now won 13 times at the TT, also finished as the runner-up behind Hutchinson in the second Supersport race.

22.Kenan SofuogluWorld Supersport Championship - Champion

The King of the 600 class, Kenan Sofuoglu made it a record-breaking fifth World Supersport Championship title in 2016, the Turk making it look easy once more. Despite beginning his season on the wrong foot with a crash out of the lead in Australia, Sofuoglu was barely challenged thereafter on the Puccetti Kawasaki. With a mid-season rout of six wins from eight races helping to put him a mammoth 74 points clear of the opposition by the end of the year, there appears to be no indication that Sofuoglu is slowing down...

Jorge Lorenzo

21.Jorge LorenzoMotoGP World Championship - 3rd

Three wins and two second places in his opening six races set up a fierce defence of his MotoGP world title but a combination of Yamaha's struggles and Jorge Lorenzo's wet weather woes hurt the Spanish rider's championship fight far too frequently. Even so, while Lorenzo will call his season a disappointment, four wins, six further rostrums and four pole positions isn't bad for one of your worst years in MotoGP. The Ducati challenge awaits in 2017.



Loading Comments...