The annual awards for the 2008 Dunlop/Gambia MSA British Historic Rally Championship were presented at the HRCR awards' dinner on Saturday [28 February], with the major titles going to Steven Smith and John Nichols.

However, with over 90 individual awards presented, many contenders were able to receive recognition for their 2008 campaigns.

With Smith/Nichols taking the overall BHRC title, runners-up Patrick Watts and Elgan Davies took the silver award and Neil Calvert and Arlene Cookson won the bronze award.

It was a good night for Watts as he also claimed the Charles Golding Award. This award is presented to the highest placed driver in a self-prepared car within the Dunlop/Gambia MSA British Historic Rally Championship. Golding died in December 2002, soon after clinching the BHRC title with his long-time co-driver, Preston Ayres.

Meanwhile, another significant award was that for the best performance in a car other than a Ford Escort. This was won by Stafford-based father and son crew Adrian and Daniel Seabridge.



Loading Comments...