At the end of season awards ceremony for the 2008 Mitsubishi Ralliart Evolution Challenge Ireland, Brendan Cumiskey was handed the keys of the car he will use on next year's Rally Ireland - his prize for winning the inaugural season of the series.

The brand new Lancer Evolution X, which will be prepared by James Foley Rallysport for the opening round of the 2009 World Rally Championship, was unveiled at the series' prize giving event held at the City North Hotel near Dublin on Saturday November 1.

"It isn't until you actually see the car that you realise what a fantastic prize this is," said Cumiskey. "Although I was first on two of the rounds I didn't think I was going to do it, right up until the final event, but I'm delighted to have won the first ever season of the Irish Evo Challenge.

"It's a great series and I've really enjoyed it. I'm now looking forward to January and Rally Ireland."

The other award winners meanwhile were:

1st Co-driver: Domhall McAllaney
2nd Driver: Damien Tourish
2nd Co-driver: Ivor Lamont
3rd Driver: Alan Carmichael
3rd Co-driver: Conor Foley
4th Driver: Stanley Ballentine
4th Co-driver: Richard Hyland

Performance Friction Brakes Cup: Damien Tourish
PIAA Junior Award: Damien Tourish
Speedline Grand Attack Award: Damien Tourish
RPM Media Award: Alan Carmichael
Sparco best improved crew: Alan Carmichael/Ivor Lamont
Sunoco Spirit Award: Stanley Ballentine

Details of the 2009 Mitsubishi Ralliart Evolution Challenge Ireland are scheduled to be announced later this month.



Loading Comments...