Guy Wilks has been confirmed as the winner of the 2008 Tesco 99 Octane MSA British Rally Championship.

Although the Mitsubishi man has yet to complete round seven - days 2 and 3 of the Wales Rally GB count as a different event for the BRC boys - he is guaranteed to come out top again regardless of whether he finishes, as he cannot be caught in the points table after Mark and David Higgins both went off the road on Saturday.

The result however could not be confirmed last night until Mark Higgins' car did not appear in parc ferm?, as he still had a very slim mathematical chance of taking the title.

Wilks' co-driver Phil Pugh meanwhile does not share the BRC title, as he was out of action for much of the year due to injury. As such Mark Higgins' co-driver Rory Kennedy takes his second title, having previously won it in 2006.

Patrik Flodin, who registered for the BRC at the start of the year, currently leads the BRC runners and is on course for the round 7 win. Gwyndaf Evans is second and perfectly placed to help Mitsubishi retain the Teams' title.

David Higgins has re-started this morning along with his team-mate Hugh Evans, both need Mitsubishi to have problems though to stand any chance of stealing the Teams' title.



Loading Comments...