Patrik Flodin and Jason Pritchard have joined the list of drivers who will take part in the 2008 Pirelli Star Driver shootout following the final two rounds of the Tesco 99 Octane MSA British Rally Championship.

Flodin secured his place after taking victory in the seventh and final round of the season during the final two days of Wales Rally GB, and will now have chance to compete for a fully funded drive in the BRC next season.

Pritchard will take another of the finalist slots, having secured his place as the highest placed Citroen C2R2 Cup Junior driver.

His nomination was guaranteed as entries closed for the final rally as none of the other Junior drivers elected to take part. He subsequently added the overall title to his tally on the event by finishing fourth amongst the BRC runners in the season finale.

In recognition of James Wozencroft's performance on previous events, the former British Stars of the Future Champion will also take a place in the Pirelli Star Drive Shootout as a wildcard entry.

He becomes on the second driver to win two nominations for the shootout, following in the footsteps of Phillip Morrow.

Meanwhile, Finnish driver Juho Hanninen - who was nominated on the first round of the BRC back in April - has stepped down from the competition after confirming he has already committed to a programme in 2009.

The Pirelli Star Driver final will take place this week, when the eight finalists will go head to head before a panel of judges, as well as showing their ability behind the wheel of potentially unfamiliar cars.

Pirelli Star Driver shootout finalists (car used in 2008:

Adam Gould(Renault Clio)Andreas Sjolander(Ford Fiesta ST)Phillip Morrow(Mitsubishi Evo 9/Subaru Impreza N11)Luke Pinder(Ford Puma)Patrik Flodin(Subaru Impreza N11/N14)Niki Bjerg(Suzuki Swift)Jason Pritchard(Citroen C2-R2)James Wozencroft(Subaru Impreza N11)



Loading Comments...