Record-breaking road racer Ryan Farquhar has been voted 2009 Irish Motorcyclist of the Year. The Dungannon racer secured 61 road racing victories in 2009, surpassing the all-time Irish road race wins record of 118 set by Joey Dunlop. Farquhar now has 121.
The year also saw him claim the Duke Road Race Rankings title for the fourth time.

His feats during the year saw him triumph in the public vote for the prestigious Irish title. Farquhar secured 29 per cent of the vote, beating World Superbike and Supersport races Jonathan Rea and Eugene Laverty.

It is the first time Farquhar has won the impressive Joey Dunlop Trophy. With his attendance at the Kings of Wanneroo race meeting in Australia due to clash with the award presentation, the trophy was presented to Farquhar in his workshop ahead of his departure.

He said:
"I am delighted to win this award - especially as this was the year when I surpassed Joey's record of national road race wins."

"I couldn't have wished for a better year, it really has been unbelievable and certainly one I'll never forget. It's also very special to beat Jonathan and Eugene given the years that they have had in the World Championship series, and I would like to thank all the people who voted for me."


Loading Comments...