Top Isle of Man TT contender Lee Johnston says he is fired up to challenge for another rostrum in the TT Zero Race after joining Belgian team Sarol?a Racing.

The Northern Ireland rider, who finished third last year on the American Victory machine, is joined in the team by Bradford's Dean Harrison, who will make his debut in the clean emissions race.

Johnston, one of the rising stars at the TT, said: "I'm buzzing to be on-board with Sarol?a. I raced last year for a different team and podiumed third, this year the plan is to podium again but faster."

The pair will compete on Sarol?a's SP7 machine as the European team contests the TT Zero race for the third consecutive season.

Harrison, preparing to return to the Island for the legendary meeting for the sixth time in his career, added: "It's my first time racing the TT Zero and I cannot wait. I've been following the team since they raced for the first time in 2014 and I'm itching to get on the bike.

"The technology is off the scale and this year is going to be flat out."

Sarol?a Racing competed in the TT Zero Race for the first time in 2014 with Robert Wilson taking the exquisite, brand new all-carbon SP7 to an amazing fourth, just 0.4 seconds off the podium after lapping at an average speed of 93.507mph.

Last year, the team made significant technical advancements and finished fifth with an average speed of 106.510 mph, a superb improvement of 13mph.

With TT Zero lap speeds and technological advancements evolving at an unprecedented rate, the 2016 race is set to be one of the most exhilarating showdowns in electric bike racing history.

Torsten Robbens, Sarol?a Racing, said: "Having multiple bikes on the 2016 TT grid in combination with two of the best road racers in the world is another huge step forward in the Sarol?a journey."

The TT Zero Race is scheduled for Wednesday, June 8 with qualifying laps on Friday 3 and Monday, June 6.



Loading Comments...